We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Court Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fountain Court Motor Inn to your Saves list
Fountain Court Motor Inn
568 David Street, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Bateau Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had styed at this motel previously and found while the rooms are older, they were clean and comfortable, and good value, so booked the same motel for a second stay. I had to cancel the booking, which I did thru the internet about 4pm the day prior to my booking, At 9.00 pm the day I had booked I got a rather angry call from Sue of Fountain Court saying Well are you on your way or what. I explained that I had cancelled the booking yesterday and was almost yelled at..There is no record on my emailsd of you cancelling and I will be charging you for the room. She was rude and nasty and I would no longer recomment this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Amazing price, amazing location, Amazing value. I can not believe the price paid for my room. Honestly these rooms are way under valued. The motel set back, the rooms are of the road giving you privacy and quietness. Simple accommodation at absolutely great value. I would stay here again with out doubt. Main street and clubs close by (2 min walk). I always look for the good in life as bad is so easy to find, quiet simple well priced rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfieldsaye
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Dont know what Sue G from Wagga is complaining about?, myself and my wife have stayed here many times in the last 5 years and have found our accomodation to be of the highest standard. Our room is always warm or cool dependent on the time year we are staying there, room is always clean and bed is excellent, spa is also excellent given we stay in the same room. Motel is located 2 minute walk to the SS& A club as well as Albury CBD. We will be staying there this coming weekend from the 15th -17th July and will be looking forward to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived at 2:00pm on a Friday afternoon (July 2012) to find the room smelt heavily of stale cigarette smoke. It was a freezing cold day (as one would expect during Winter in Albury) and the room felt like Douglas Mawson and his Antarctic Expedition would feel right at home! The room was like an industrial freezer in an abattoir!!

We duly turned on the split system 'heater' and followed the Motel instructions for use. After two hours; the room was actually colder on the inside, than what it was outside!
We then turned off the split system and checked the filters. They were absolutely putrid!
We then cleaned the filters and replaced them.

We adjusted the temperature control from 23°C (Heat Mode/Full Fan), up to 30°C and allowed the heater mode to operate for another 50 minutes. During this period, the room did not warm up at all. In fact, we could detect only a faint waft of warm air from the system's vent. The Unit would reach a certain point and then cut out for 10 minutes (thermostat control). The room would then cool down even further.

I then contacted 'Reception' for assistance. I asked the male person at Reception for use of some electric blow heaters and explained that the split system heater was not working properly.
The Male person then told me that they did not have any electric fan heaters and that their split system heating had only recently been serviced and were all working perfectly.

A short time later, a Male person (Motel Owner) attended our room. Upon walking in, he immediately said: "It feels warm in here. There's nothing wrong with the heating."

We reiterated that the heater Unit had been operating for nearly three hours and that no appreciable increase in temperature had been generated by the split system. He then told us that the spilt system had been serviced and that there were no problems with the Unit. We told him that if the Unit had been 'serviced' - then the filters would have been cleaned as part of the servicing protocol. It was obvious that this had not occurred. We then told him, that we had cleaned the putrid filters ourselves and that it was more than obvious that the filters had not been properly cleaned for very many months!!

The owner was argumentative and belligerent towards us and was in no position to deal with our pleas for assistance. In fact, he just didn't care! There was no suggestion of moving us to another room, or providing additional blankets!!

The next day whilst settling the account; we once again mentioned our dissatisfaction with an obviously defective heating Unit. The owner once again trotted out the same statement about the system being recently serviced and that there was nothing wrong it.

Upon making initial enquiries regarding tariff prices; the owner quoted $115.00 for the room - even though he was well aware that Wotif were advertising $95.00 for the same room!
We brought this to his attention over the phone, where he quickly said that he could "match the price"!!

In hind sight, we should have simply left the Motel and sought alternative accommodation, after the owner demonstrated his clear level of ambivalence and complete lack of concern for the heating situation in our room. It's not a big ask to expect heating and cooling to work effectively in a 3-Star Motel room these days ... especially if the operator is quoting $115.00 for the privilege!

The Motel Operators also actively advertise Austar/Foxtel services on Wotif and other promo material. However, the owner tells us that these services "no longer work." Very misleading indeed!

The 'Town House Motel' located diagonally opposite the 'Fountain Court' is a much better option, for a slightly cheaper tariff!! Also, The Manor House Motel is yet another excellent alternative.

We will never stay at this place again - even if it is convenient to the pubs, clubs, services and the Albury CBD. The split system units are old and clearly no longer operate properly & the owner/operator clearly does not care.

Give this place a wide berth unless absolutely necessary!!

Room Tip: Stay at any one of the other Motels located near by. What ever you do; do not stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Fountain Court Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Our airconditioner was working on that day in question. Upon entering the room, once told there was a problem the room was like an oven! This review clearly says a lot about the reviewer. Please look at the other reviews of our local well known eateries which I notice were done on the same day as ours. What a busy man he has been. One restaurant is apparently a front for the mafia!! We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Graham S from Wagga as the room was registered under a different name and gender! We only dealt with a woman. This information alone indicates that the reviewers credibility is suspect.
The nasty, unsubstantiated and vitriolic claims made by the reviewer against ourselves and two other venues in Albury border on the defamatory and indicate the reviewer has personal issues. I do know that one of the other venues agrees with our opinion of the individual and the matter has been referred to and reviewed by their Head Office with a view to further action being taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have just stayed there. It was freezing & the heater did not work. We did what they said to do but still nothing. Left it on while we went shopping for 3 hrs & came back to freezing room. No-one was at reception by that time. No electric blankets either. So off with the heating & we snuggled right down in our beds to keep warm, using their extra blankets. On the plus side the beds were comfortable. The shower screen had a HUGE crack right accross it and the shower screen door was really hard to open. With a little work could be a lovely place to stay, it is a good size. But for us $115 pn was way too much to have paid for what we got. Fix the shower screen & add new heat/cool & $115 pn would be a good price.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for. If it seems too cheap than it will have problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Fountain Court Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sue G from Wagga,
In the hospitality industry we are trained to believe that the customer is always right-to a point. Our heaters are all in working order and I find it interesting that you didn't report it to Reception. Our Reception is open from 7.00am-9.00pm every day and if you have stayed in motels often enough you would realise from reading the compendium you can contact reception outside of these hours by dialling "9". We also have a nightbell outside reception. All motel owners live on site and are available through the night to fix any problem if it arises. If we had known you were having problems operating your heater, it would have taken five minutes to sort out. I also note that you failed to report the problem upon check-out the next morning. Please give motel owners a break - if we are not told about something at the time, how are we supposed to rectify the problem? Yes, we do have a crack in one of our showerscreen panels. I have stayed in five star establishments over the years that also have had cracks in screens and tiles, so your arguement about cheap rates is hardly justified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathfieldsaye
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I attended Albury for a sporting event and found this motel to be not the cleanest of places and all i will say is the room we stayed in has certainly given us a story to tell which is a pity really because the owners are lovely and the bed did have nice fresh clean sheets....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglehawk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Motel is in a quite location walk to clubs and pubs. 10star owners bend over backwards to be of help. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy .Wife and I always stay here when in Albury and will return it is a pleasure to stay there the negitive reviews are far from accurate

Room Tip: we have stayed in various rooms and all have been excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Court Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Motor Inn

Address: 568 David Street, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fountain Court Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Court Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.