We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, but freezing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allawa Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Allawa Motor Inn to your Saves list
Allawa Motor Inn
423 Olive St (cnr Hume St) ,, Albury, New South Wales 2650, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Albury
melbourne, australlia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice, but freezing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had stayed here once before but it was in summer. This time it was June 2013, we rang before arriving as requested so they could "heat" up the room. Well when we arrived around 11pm, the room had not been warmed! The double brick walls were freezing and the heater blew only cold to tepid air. We complained and were told, "oh the heaters dont work properly, set it at 24!". Which we did and it made no difference. Did I mention we also had an 8mth old baby! We put her in bed with us to all keep warm!! Nice, affordable accom, but they must invest in better heating especially in Albury. The heaters they have have past their use by, and must be replaced! Be warned in winter, lovely in summer.

Room Tip: Phone pre-arrival with any specific requests. Check if heating is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is very clean and comfortable and worth considering as it is an affordable price but doesn't skimp on basics. It had a kitchenette with microwave, toaster and kettle and washing up facilities. I was very pleased with the large mugs for cuppas and that there was no sign of those tiny standard issue teacups which never quench ones thirst. I had rung ahead to see if there was a vacancy and in the 5 minutes it took to get there, the manager had turned on the room heater. I found the rooms were warm and had electric blankets on the bed.
It is quiet and central. If you are looking for clean and comfortable and are not fussed about an older style room then I can recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great location in quiet spot, just one block from city centre, an easy walk. The room was spotless, spacious, a very nice kitchenette and bathroom. The incuded continental breakfast was delivered to the room before we arrived (DIY toast, juice, spreads etc). After staying in overpriced or mediocre accommodation in Sydney and Canberra the previous few days, this was the highlight of our trip. Even my wife thought it was great, and she is much harder to please than me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Despite checking the web and confirming by emails and phone the price was $89 for a double room, upon arrival at 5:30 this became $135 which I was told would be reduced to "$100" with 'this is now the cheapest room in Albury' given as the reason. Given this motel does not have an option to Pre-pay or reserve by credit card on the web, we thought an email with the amount confirmed would be sufficient to hold the very ordinary 1970 furnished room. Although not a huge price difference, it was due to the unprofessional attitude of the grumpy middle aged receptionist that we decided to look elsewhere. In 5 minutes we found and happily gave our patronage to a place with a lovely woman who gave us home baked cookies, generously accommodated a late check out & found us the quietest room possible. For these, I happily paid the extra $10 and left looking forward to our stay - go to Seiton Arms instead!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allawa Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
The email was received late on a Friday night , the response was sent on a Saturday morning confirming that the price for a queen room was indeed $89- there was no response to our reply either by email or phone- we thought nothing of it until a lady arrived late afternoon on Saturday demanding a room at the $89 rate we had qouted- it was pointed out to her that because she had failed to confirm her booking we had sold all of the rooms at that rate but we had only two rooms left one of which was a family unit and despite it being school holidays we offered it to her at a heavily discounted rate- she refused this and became rude and aggressive-I'm glad she found alternate accommodation and if she hadn't been so blinkered she would have seen our cookies on our counter in our reception but there are none so blind as those that cannot see
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at this property recently and found it to be a pleasant experience. The room was warmed by a reasonably silent air conditioner and the bed was well warmed by electric blanket. Found the 70's style building quite charming and we picked motel at random as our usual motel had no vacancies. Will most likely stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stopped overnight on the Melbourne Sydney drive. Good location, nice owner, hot showers, easy parking, quiet and easy access back on the Highway.

Booked a family room everything was fine, rooms are a bit dark in that 70s brick interior style of motels. Location was great we walked to Dean Street for pizza and an ice cream and to stretch the legs after 4 hours in the car and we had a choice of cafes at 730am for breakfast so it was great not to eat highway fast food.

Showers had good power & lots of hot water, there was a fridge to cool water and chocolate for the next 6 hour drive.

Aircon was good beds were average to lumpy but for a place to put your head down & get dinner it was fine.

My tip is there are 2 cafes which do some gluten free on Dean St & a cinema on the main street. I had know we could have got there early had dinner and a movie which would have been a good break.

Room Tip: There is only one family sized room for 2 adults and 2 teens with no roll away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Allawa several times now, and have always found it to be comfortable and great value. As we travel frequently between Melbourne and Sydney, we came across The Allawa last year and now won't stay anywhere else. The owners are very friendly and happy to help in any way, and they have recommended some great restaurants which are all within a very easy walking distance. The city center is 2 blocks away, with everything you could need. The rooms are a great size and are equipped with everything to make for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We like the rooms closest to the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allawa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawa Motor Inn

Address: 423 Olive St (cnr Hume St) ,, Albury, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Allawa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allawa Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.