We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOUD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quorn Exchange

The Quorn Exchange
10-12 High Street, Quorn, Loughborough LE12 8DT, England
+44 1509 621444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Quorn
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: European, English, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a family run, Award winning restaurant situated in the picturesque village of Quorn,Leicester. Diners can join us for lunches, our great value early evening menu, evening meals from our A La Carte menu, our famous weekend breakfast and of course our fantastic Home cooked Sunday roasts. All served by our warm and friendly team in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere
Midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“LOUD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice place in many ways. The food was quite good and the service friendly and efficient. A nice dining environment and we were looking forward to a good evening.

Unfortunately (and I don't blame the QE for this) the evening was tainted by the party of jollied up Hooray Henry's on the table near us. Once sat down - and that took some doing - they quickly embarked upon a mission to see who could talk/shout/cackle/grunt/squeak the loudest.

Should one of this boisterous number be reading this (it's 1:45pm so chances are they have risen from the four-poster by now), may I kindly point out the difference between a restaurant and the Badminton Horse Trials:

A Restaurant - a place where people go for civilised conversation and good food to be enjoyed in a warm, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Engaging enthusiastically with one another whilst at the same time remaining aware of the other diners in room. To impinge upon their evening would show discourtesy, nay, even a distinct lack of class.

The Badminton Horse Trials - an event where one can cavort lavishly with one's chums in a boisterous manner. The ample space of the competition environment (i.e. wide open green fields) make the manner in which one conducts one's self (loud, heaving, cackling and conversation reduced to shouting at a minimum of 150db) more manageable and tolerant for those in the immediate vicinity.

When such unsporting manners are brought to the more confined surroundings of a small village restaurant, however, it makes for a disastrous evening for those within earshot. And earshot for this lot would be 500 yards at a guess.

May I suggest, on their next jolly soiree, they consider holding the 'do' in more appropriate surroundings - Welford Road for example.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Delicious food great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Quorn exchange with a friend last night we were welcomed on arrival with very friendly bar staff who bought us drinks whilst we looked at the menu.
The menu had lots of choice with a mid week special option but we both decided on the paella. Being in the food industry myself I'm am usually really picky however this dish was faultless! Served in a traditional paella pan it was full of meat and seafood packed with flavour...delicious!!!
After such a generous portion we were too full for pudding but did have one of the best espressos I've had for a while served with homemade fudge which was a really nice touch! Looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time on a Saturday evening and it was packed, would definitely recommend booking.
Choice of food was very good although not an extensive menu. Also have a 'specials board'. Soup of the day was potato, leek and wild garlic which husband says was fabulous
Service was very good and wait between courses was just right, staff were very pleasant and did all they could to accommodate our young teenagers likes and dislikes - having said that I would not take our daughter again as she didn't appreciate the menu!
Pudding was absolute heaven, again not an extensive choice but all sweets we ordered were presented and looked fabulous., friends we visited with have said breakfasts are superb so will return to sample those!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is how to do breakfasts...!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been back to the QE on many occasions and the quality of food and service are exceptional and remain so...full credit to the staff and management who know how to run a business and provide food of such a high standard - keep it up folks....!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

5 of us arrived without a reservation and although the restaurant was very busy they managed to squeeze us in without any fuss. We were seated next to the entertainment which was a female vocalist accompanied by a guy on acoustic guitar. She was rather an excellent singer with a great range and repertoire if a little too loud to be sat next to we thought.

Starters of pate and mussels were very acceptable. Main courses of pork chop , lamb shoulder, sea bass and chicken & bacon were all very good also as was the red wine we chose.

Service was just a tad on the slow side but very pleasant all the same. The bill with drinks came to about £25 a head - very reasonable for the quality and quantity of food re had.

Will be back on our annual trip to Quorn next year but will book to be sure of a table next time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quorn Exchange also viewed

Quorn, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Quorn, Loughborough
 

Been to The Quorn Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quorn Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.