We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Save Saved
You added Tuddenham Mill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tuddenham Mill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tuddenham
Northamptonshire,UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wow...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

As other reviewers have said this really is a very special place, its not cheap but hey these places never are. Stayed in one of the stable rooms which was stunning with probably the best bathroom ever, it was £330per night!!! Booked into the restuarant and again the food and service were out of this world as was the bar. If only it was a slightly lower price would stay there all the time-such a pretty location too. A very special place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    86
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
271
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I came here for a night out of London with our two small children. We got a great rate for a loft room and dinner, and we had a truly wonderful day out in the country. The room was beautiful and spacious and modern. They have interestingly made a very modern and beautiful hotel without harming the integrity of the old mill. The room was more than enough space for a baby cot, and a double bed set up for our preschooler. We were able to set up our baby monitor so we could put the kids to bed and enjoy a lovely dinner in the excellent restaurant.
There were such nice little touches in the room, from the sloe gin and fresh squeezed oj, to the nice (large) bath products and Missoni bathrobes, to the brownies and biscuits in the room. We had a quiet day just walking around the surrounding countryside, and it was just the nice break we needed from London for the night, all at an hour and a half's distance away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from our celebratory 2 night stay and it was perfection. The staff were friendly and helpful and the service was of a high standard. We stayed in the Water Meadow room and the finishing touches of complimentary fresh OJ, homemade biscuits (including treats for our dog), fresh milk, bottled water and sloe gin were a lovely welcome. The room was simple, stylish and very comfortable with exquisite views. Love the night blind and the patio windows. The malfunctioning windows were swiftly rectified upon our arrival. Great bath and good shower. We dined in the restaurant and although quite pricey the tasty local ingredients and the chef's culinary creativeness and skill certainly justified this. Breakfasts are made to order (hooray!) and are top notch - really recommend the full English. Good walks without taking the car. Absolutely first class for those who just want to escape for a while and enjoy some serious R&R. Can't wait for another Birthday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay. Loved the setting, the boutique nature of the place really worked. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Had one night in with great food. Breakfasts first class.
Not a lot I the village itself but plenty of great local towns to enjoy...... Highly recommended, well done Tuddenham

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon B, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a delight to read you "really enjoyed " your night at Tuddenham Mill.

All the team take pride in providing top notch hospitality to all our guests and I have also passed your comments back to the team.

We will also be providing a cycle service and a putting green on our meadow soon, so there is a little more to do when you return.

Look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We got married at this hotel 5 years ago. We tried to book a table for three weeks prior to our anniversary and never got a reply even though we left messages. We had decided not to bother with the booking after such poor service, but after a re-think and as it is a special place for us, decided to go head and book. When we finally managed to get through to the hotel we explained about the problems we had experienced with booking and it was our anniversary.
We arrived to no welcome, young staff who were trying to assist but not experienced. The restaurant had no atmosphere and food was so disappointing. Food was cold and although we really enjoy nouvelle cuisine dinning this was ridiculous. We like other reviews on trip-advisor left feeling extremely hungry. We did not complain as we agreed we would not be visiting again. My husband and I are people who enjoy small meals, but this is a joke.
We decided to skip the desert, and headed to a local store to buy desert and cheese.
Our wedding we thoroughly enjoyed because we organized it, but the service here has not changed.

Room Tip: We have never stayed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon B, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, which was disappointing to read. We will certainly review our booking and telephone procedures and I am sorry that your first enquiry slipped through our net.

I was also disappointed to read that our style of cuisine did not meet your expectations. Since your weeding here 5 years ago our Head Chef changed 3 years ago. Since then we have won numerous awards for or cuisine and most recently our restaurant has been place in the top 50 restaurants in the UK by the Good Food Guide 2013. We also review our food provision regularly and we also offer a variety of menus which we feel suit a variety of tastes.

We of course take all our customers feedback and access any actions that are needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is brilliant. Wonderful peaceful location with stylish, comfortable rooms. Excellent service and food that impressed even a jaded old foodie like me. The chef, Paul Foster, is an unassuming genius who takes local ingredients and blends them with his own imagination to create little works of culinary art. Haven't had the bill yet, but whatever it is it's worth it! We took our 2 dogs and ate mostly in the bar, which we actually preferred to the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon B, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for review, to have a review describing our hospitality as "Faultless" is absolutely wonderful. I have passed on all your thanks to the Team.

It was also a delight to read that you felt our chef, Paul Foster as a "unassuming genius". Our kitchen team takes pride in using local ingredients and "creating little works of culinary art"

We look forward to seeing you and your 2 dogs back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a late minute booking. We were due elsewhere but my husband hurt himself so this was the replacement.
The room was wonderful, huge attention to detail was fantastic.
We had a room and meal deal we weren't impressed with the meal it's ok if you like little blobs of stuff on massive plates. But it was included in the price which was reduced anyway so not so much of a problem as we would have had to pay the price for the room anyway
Will be visiting again but will eat elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon B, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you felt the "room was wonderful" and our "attention to detail was fantastic", which all the team at Tuddenham Mill pride themselves on.

I was disappointed to read that our style of cuisine was not to your expectations. We have many comments on our cuisine, which we certainly review on a regular basis and we do offer a variety of menus which we feel suit a variety of tastes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuddenham Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.