We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value pub/restaurant that stays open late” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar

Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar
18 Wakefield St, Westport 7601, New Zealand
(03) 789 5030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Westport
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value pub/restaurant that stays open late”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at Archer House nearby and were recommended the Denniston Dog. Nothing much to look at from outside, but good value, good food, friendly service, they even gave us free glasses of wine although we'd forgotten to bring the vouchers given to us at Archer House. And amazingly for a NZ restaurant outside a major city, it was still taking orders after 9pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    18
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's no Dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food delicious, the service great. We just returned to this tried and true restaurant - didn't want to try anywhere else.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good meal on a busy night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went here on the night of the Buller Marathon. Despoite being very busy, the staff remained friendly and professional. We were told we had an hours wait, and they had a good system for tracking people waiting, and it ended up being about this - enough for a couple of drinks. The food was good - Ive ordered from the "stonegrill" portion of the menu in the past and find it a bit over-rated as it is difficult to get the meal right and its pretty fiddly. However this time around I had the lamb shanks and it was delicious. Generally very pleased and will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good meals, cheerful atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, extensive menu. Well placed near centre of town, looks unpreposessing but is quite roomy inside and the food is good. We have been here several times and never disappointed. However it is a pub, not a class restaurant, so expect casual.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Do not be put off from what the outside looks like!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Visited this place mid week and was surprised that most of the tables were reserved.not sure whether this was a marketing ploy as when we left and the rest,arrant was closed nobody had arrived.

Attentive staff offered us a drink whilst the table was made up. I ordered fillet steak medium rare but it was medium well and very disappointing.Told the waitress but no offer to change and when I mentioned a checkout they reduced the bill by $6!!!My wife had pork belly which was delicious with crunchy crackling to die for. Wine very reasonably priced and it is probably worth another visit.

Does not look much from the outside but worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.