We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing evening” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Town House

The Town House
13-15 Cobden Street, Westport 7601, New Zealand
+64 3 789 7133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 restaurants in Westport
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Housed in the distinctive Art Deco ‘Waterside Workers Union Hall’ The Town House (formally The Bay House) is a ‘must do’ on your coastal itinerary. Reminiscent of a European café The Town House is the ‘go to’ place whatever you’re dining needs, whether it be a meal at anytime during the day or evening, a coffee and croissant in the morning, an afternoon wine or cocktail or a late evening drink and dessert. This is the place where you will find the locals sipping espresso at the bar on a Saturday morning reading the paper while others dine in the restaurant and enjoy the a la carte menu on offer. Located towards the port end of town near the picturesque fishing wharf on the corner of Palmerston and Cobden Streets, The Town House’ cosy interior is in keeping with its art deco history featuring original wooden floors, be-spoke wallpaper and wood paneled walls throughout with a deco sunburst theme behind the bar, the freestanding fireplace and in the original art deco glass and rimu doors that lead to the north facing terrace. The dining room is cosy despite its open design and high ceilings. The room warms up as it fills up with diners and comes alive with the enjoyable buzz of dinner conversations and as the warm weather comes to an end a spot by the fireplace is desirable and will see you settle in for a very comfortable dining experience. The Terrace has seating for 40 diners and on a sunny day is the best spot in town for alfresco wining and dining.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We found the staff a bit surly and the service very slow, when the meal finally arrived the food was served on cold plates, was tasteless and the garnish was one dry lettuce leaf ! The highly priced dishes did not deliver the quality we expected.
We certainly would not return or recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    90
    35
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We weren't expecting a bar/restaurant of this quality in Westport so were very pleasantly surprised when we came for a drink and then a meal. Very good coffee. Loved the scallops entree. Venison was a great combination of flavours - with roasted grapes, walnuts, and feta - best meal in a long time. Interior is well presented and staff were friendly and efficient.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“stunning food and a great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We (2) went here on the recommendation of our accommodation host. What a brilliant place! For a light lunch we had 3 shared plates: pork gyoza, feta and parsley filo parcels, baked scallops. The shared plates were all simply magnificent! The flavours were beautifully complemented by the salad that came with each plate. I spent the rest of the day wanting to stop sightseeing and go back to eat some more. We went back the next day for another light lunch and had the feta and parsley filo parcels (again) and the beef skewers with spiced peanut sauce. Wonderful again! They also knew how to make a good hot pot of tea! Sadly we had to leave Westport that day. Otherwise I would just eat my way through their entire menu.

The service on the first day was a little slow, but the boss(?) came out to apologise and explain that they were training new staff that day. Great approach, well done! Service on our second visit was perfect and without fault.

The decor inside is very cool! Art Deco feel with some antique furniture in use. The booths around the walls are also very nicely thought out, just a little partition to give visual separation without complete isolation and not crowding the room with walls. We only saw it in broad daylight, at night I think it would be a very nice place to be with an easy intimate atmosphere. The music was perfect: great music selection at just the right volume, loud enough to hear but not so loud you have to raise your voice to talk to the person over the table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a return trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The only thing this place is missing is a view. The food is superb! and the menu changes regularly to suit the season.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We haven't actually left the restaurant yet but just had to review this place before I forgot how good it was!

I had the wild venison and my partner had the pork belly which was on the special board. Both were absolutely fantastic, perfectly cooked and mouth wateringly delicious!

I'm happy to highly recommend this place for any travelers (or locals) who may be stopping by or if not, perhaps put Westport on your itinerary just for this place alone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Town House also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.