We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B on Northern West Coast of South Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Birds Ferry Lodge to your Saves list
Birds Ferry Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Birds Ferry Road, RD 2, Westport 7865, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
“Perfect B&B on Northern West Coast of South Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed in their Ferrymans Cottage, where they provide "fixings" for breakfast (and dinner, if desired) but where you are isolated form the Lodge. (Cottage is several hundred meters down it's own road.). New, ideally designed two BR, one bath with full kitchen, large living/dining area, south-west facing deck. Attention to detail in the accommodation and the appliances provided is superb. Numerous listings assembled by them for what to do, where to eat, etc. I only wish we had planned more days here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    22
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
134
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011 via mobile

Special Place

For some reason I always had high hopes of Bird Ferry Lodge, and it didn't disappoint at all. The welcome was what you would expect from old friends. Our host, André, was very skilled at helping guests to feel at home at the lodge, and with each other. He is also a knowledgeable and helpful resource on all things 'New Zealand'. And our hostess, Alison, artfully produced some of the most delicious food that we tasted during our travels all over New Zealand. I strongly recommend that visitors book themselves in for dinner to take advantage of the 'home grown' and freshly picked vegetables and seasonal local produce. The Lodge is nicely situated, and two nights stay is perfect to take advantage of local sightseeing, or the peace and tranquility of the gardens and local setting. 

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you so much for taking teh time to review your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day! PS Love the new Iphone! Thanks for the tips! A&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

It is secluded and a great place to rest. The food is mostly quite good. Andre gives great travel advice for the south island.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
We are delighted you enjoyed you stay! Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This place is stunning (even in the pouring rain) and everything about it is just perfect. The room was wonderful, and breakfast out of this world and the place was overall very welcoming. I have never seen such attention to detail - even the wood tissue box matched the wood of the walls! The hosts were very nice. Andre, who is a tour guide, was so eager to share all his local knowledge. He even offered to lend me his inflatable mattress for camping which was above and beyond the call of duty for B&B hosts. We would definitely go back again and would be sure to stay for more than 1 night

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
WE are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you enjoyed the Routeburn Track!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Initially, a little difficult to find. Just off the main road, take a very long, gravel drive to the cottage. There, you are warmly greeted by Alison, Andre and their two very friendly dogs. Then you are shown into your beautiful room and prepare for dinner. If you so choose (and I highly recommend doing so), pay a little extra to sit down to Alison's wonderful cooking and open a bottle of wine. Incredibly relaxing, incredibly quaint setting. Beds were very comfortable. Then follow-up your wonderful night's sleep with an extravagant breakfast prepared by Alison. This was a great little cottage and wonderful hosts. Alison and Andre really go the extra mile to inform you about the area, about New Zealand, and also to make sure you are on time for your next activity! We were scheduled to go cave rafting the next day, they called the cave rafting company for us and confirmed us and the shuttle, and they also left their contact number just in case anything with the scheduling changed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback - we really appreciate it and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
All guests who book direct with us are supplied, by email, good directions on how to find us - so have no concerns about finding this out of the way paradise! No traffic noice here!Just the birdsong & the ocean in the distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Lovely couple enjoying fulfilling their dream and sharing it with others seems to be easy for Fiona and Andre. Make sure you book in for dinner as Fiona's love of cooking comes over in her food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you for posting a review - Andre and Alison very much enjoyed your company and showing you our uniqie & special way of life here at Birds Ferry Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC 29205
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The location of the Lodge was especially salubrious because I arrived there after flights from the USA of nearly 48 hours: there is no traffic noise and the intrinsic quietness of the Lodge is broken only by bird calls. Nevertheless, despite my condition, I had a wonderful first night's dinner, excellently cooked and presented by Alison and genially presided over by Andre. The food is New Zealand at its best, and the wines are cosmopolitan, well-chosen, and very drinkable. However, it is as much the congeniality of the hosts that made the dinner so memorable for me, and the dinner of the second night -- tailored to the culinary tastes of an additional couple -- was scarcely less memorable. This is a small establishment so the agreeableness of other guests at meals is crucial for good conversation, but the congeniality of the Gygaxes guarantees a very good experience.
The furnishing and decor of the Lodge and bedrooms both is tasteful and agreeable: I cannot recall that anything was missing for a good stay and a sound night's sleep. I slept like the proverbial log. It is not a criticism but friendly advice to mention that the bedrooms are not especially large, though adequate for couples without young children. (This is not a place for young children: they would merely spoil the visit for everyone else.) The Lodge is impeccably clean and well-maintained. The landscaped grounds are set in the natural setting of native bush, with satisfying views of the surrounding hills (mountains?), and the Lodge makes ample provision for guests to appreciate the views. I cannot recall any amenity that was lacking.
I am already looking forward to a second visit next year. I just hope that I will be able to get in.
Trevor Howard-Hill, 15 November, 2010

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Address: Birds Ferry Road, RD 2, Westport 7865, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds Ferry Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.