We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FERRYMANS COTTAGE A TRUE LUXURY WITH TWO GREAT HOST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Birds Ferry Lodge to your Saves list
Birds Ferry Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Birds Ferry Road, RD 2, Westport 7865, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surat, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“FERRYMANS COTTAGE A TRUE LUXURY WITH TWO GREAT HOST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are very grateful to Alison and Andre for there great hospitality.We stayed there two nights and do not want to live the place. We roam around there organic farm which was great. The 2 BHK cottage with full amenities was a luxury place to live in. The pond next to the cottage with beautiful ducks. Had a great time feeding them. Alison gave us a lot of vegetables to cook the dry chili's home made by Alison added a great taste to our food. Thanks A LOT for being such a great hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay all the way from India!!!. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    22
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
142
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent 4 great days in Ferryman Cottage and it was wonderful!

The isolated and stunning location gave us a boost of energy and inspiration we needed.
The cottage is warm, cozy and functional. We were also very impressed of how Alison and André have thought of every detail.

The reception of our hosts could not have been better. We had a good time chatting with them and at all times they did not measure efforts to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Breakfast was a delight and the massage was divine!

We really wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Please do yourself a favor and try the massage. Also go for the walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay all the way from India!!!. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

An excellent and personal reception by Alison and André. We stayed one night in the lodge. Despite the rainy weather it was a five-star experience. Luckily we booked dinner: it turned out to be outstanding, worth a top-restaurant, seriously. Breakfast as one to remember too.
A place to return to.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked a one night stay in the Ferryman Cottage. The location is pretty isolated (I believe around 20km from the nearest town), so the detailed directions provided on their website were useful. We were told beforehand to proceed directly to the cottage upon arrival. It had a separate road leading to it and felt very secluded. As we drove in we noticed the beautiful grounds around the cottage. There was lush greenery surrounding the area as well as a small pond, and we were greeted by around five ducks (who seemed to reside in our garden).

Entering the apartment, it seemed well appointed and quite spacious with two bedrooms, a large dining table, lounge area and open plan kitchen. There was only one bathroom, which may not be ideal if you were a party of four staying in the cottage (in our case there was just two of us, so it was not an issue). It seemed no matter which window we looked out of, the views were very nice. Not a single building or other person in sight!

There are some short walks you can take around the property and a map illustrating these is provided in the room. There is a double bathtub outside located in the gardens which looked tempting, but we did not get a chance to try it out.

If you provide advance notice, dinner will be provided in the cottage and left in the fridge for you to heat up. The menu is always changing, in our case we had a chicken dish with rice and corn on the cob. It was quite tasty, although we felt it could have had more seasoning. Loved the chocolate based dessert though! Similarly, all the necessary ingredients for breakfast are left in the apartment (eggs, muesli, fruits, bread, etc). The only extra item available on request was freshly baked croissants, which were delivered to us by Andre in the morning. We found the kitchen was very well equipped and the cutlery and utensils were of a high quality.

Wifi is provided free of charge up to a certain usage limit. We did have some issues with wifi, which was a bit slow and had to be reset at one point. There was a drawer in the kitchen absolutely full with board games, books and DVDs. Plenty to keep you entertained in the evenings. We decided to watch a DVD as we ate dinner, but did find the TV quite small and located at an odd angle.

The cottage is clearly well equipped for winter conditions. There is a working fireplace, radiators, electric blankets, etc. In our visit during March it was a warm sunny day, and it was a bit muggy in the apartment until we opened up the windows. There are plenty of windows so it was much more pleasant once we had a nice cross breeze flowing through. Thoughtfully, they have included mesh netting on most of the windows to keep out any bugs.

We only went to the main building when we needed to check out the next day. Andre was quite keen to hear about our onward journey and provide tips/comments. This was a very enjoyable overnight stop. I loved the seclusion of the cottage and the great views, as well as the resident ducks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little gem. We stayed in the cottage - I only wish we could have stayed longer. It's a fully kitted out cottage suitable for a family, and had everything we could possibly need as travellers, including a washing machine with powder, and a dryer. There was plenty of hot water, towels, dressing gowns, and bathroom stuff, including bath salts. They have an impressive collection of DVDs and games, although we did not have time for those. The furnishings are cosy. It was very warm, so we had no need for the wood burner, although that would have been romantic. If it had been cold, they also had oil fin heaters and electric blankets. The beds were divine. The kitchen is fully equipped, and has a dishwasher drawer. We were left bacon, eggs, juice and freshly baked bread for our breakfast. Outside there is a fantastic garden with a huge lawn, a stream with a bridge and a family of ducks. Interestingly, there were also two baths outside, fully connected to the main water supply, with telephone-type tap fittings. On the deck there is a table and chairs and a BBQ. I would not only like to stay here again, but to live here.!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We only spent one night here but wished it had been longer. We were greeted by Alison on our arrival with a pot of tea and beautiful home made shortbread. She showed us around the property and then to our room which was extremely comfortable with great views and had everything one could possibly want at hand.

We had pre booked dinner at the lodge and we were offered pre dinner drinks at 6.30 in the guest with Andre as host whilst Alison was merrily cooking our dinner in the adjoining kitchen. Dinner was beautiful and thoroughly enjoyed.

After dinner the lounge is a wonderful comfy room to relax in and look at the many books And magazines available.

Breakfast was lovely too and afterwards the little chat we had with Andre about our onward journey was very much appreciated.

This B&B is well worth a visit, thank you Alison and Andre for your hospitality and only wish we could have used the hot tub and also experienced a massage too, next time!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Bird's ferryman cottage for only one night, travel agent's shame, as it should be longer to enjoy the ambience of the place and hospitality of the hosts Alison and Andre. While the cottage was self contained with provisions, way beyond our needs, to prepare our own breakfast, we also enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal prepared by Alison and served at the lodge with lodge guests. Evening meal must be booked in advance!!! Breakfast supplies were all homemade or local produce. The garden was a joy to behold and pond ducks gave us many laughs as they begged to be fed. Cottage includes washing machine, dryer, dishwasher and microwave. Rooms spacious and well furnished, just drive in and enjoy the peace and solitude. We will be back if at all possible, thank you Alison and Andre

Room Tip: Didn't see the lodge rooms but suspect they as good as the cottage which has 2 bedrooms so would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review - Andre and Alison are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Address: Birds Ferry Road, RD 2, Westport 7865, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds Ferry Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.