We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   314 Palmerston Street | Buller, Westport 7825, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Westport
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed over again in the Bella Vista for a recent school reunion. Has been consistently good each time we have stayed.
Owners very friendly. Some free wifi was included which is always good.
Unit was clean and well presented.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you had a good experience with us. Maybe we will see you back sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
32
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bella Vista in the middle of some terrible weather - even with power cutting in and out of Westport was the owners were really helpful and friendly and room was really nice & clean.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We did have a rough time that night, pleased you enjoyed the experience. Hopefully if you visit again sometime the weather will be much nicer. Thanks for your kind words.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I choose Bella Vista wherever possible because you know what you're getting. Westport's branch is well appointed, very clean and quiet. The owners are very friendly and really helpful. I enjoyed my stay very much and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments Nicky. We are happy your experience with us was a pleasant one and we look forward to your company in the future. Seasons greetings to you and yours.
Marilyn, Trevor and Bella Vista Westport Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We wanted to have a look at a unit here and possibly stay the night, we went into the reception area and rang a bell, the guy who we had seen outside wandering round shutting doors finally decided to come in and attend to us, then he proceeded to try and put us off even having a look, he did tell us the price but after hearing his bad attitude we decided to say we would think about it and left, never to go back.
Went to look at the place next door but he never had anything suitable and we mentioned this guy and apparently that is quite normal, whereas the guy in the neighboring motel was great and very helpful, will stay there another day.

Room Tip: Dont bother with this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry you had this experience at our place. We have made your comment known to all 'guys' on our staff with not knowing when this was and who it might have been. It is unfortunate this happened, but we can all have off days. If you would like to make contact with us, email or phone we would appreciate hearing from you.
Have a lovely day
Kind regards
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed for a few nights in the Bella Vista, in the main street of Westport, on a business trip.

The street itself was relatively quiet, although some of the guests in neighbouring rooms on a couple of nights on my stay weren't quite so quiet. And unfortunately the wind was blowing just so one night, causing my neighbouring guest's cigarette smoke to blow straight in my room's window. Even after closing the window (and losing the nice breeze), the smoke still found its way under the front door. I think I was just unlucky, really, and it was only a single evening's inconvenience.

The rooms are modern and well maintained, and cleaned well and regularly. They are a little smaller than some of the alternatives in the town, and there's only a limited selection of TV channels compared to some of the competitors, if you're wanting to watch TV. (I wasn't, so it didn't matter too much to me.)

Internet access is great value for a longer stay and I had no issues with it at all. International VPN access to my office over the motel's WiFi network worked without a hitch.

The toiletries are top notch -- manuka honey soap and even a small bottle of moisturiser -- and the tea and coffee selection is better than that provided by some competitors in town. You even receive a couple of daily cookies, which seems to be a bit of a rarity in motels in this part of the world.

The self-catering was relatively basic, with a microwave, mobile hotplates, kettle, toaster, etc, and a bar fridge. Not great if you want to cook in an oven or want icecream to stay frozen, but pretty standard for most self-catering motels in which I've stayed. The guest laundry only has one washer and one dryer, and is typically pricey -- no worse than others, but no better either. It all seemed to work fine, however.

I felt a little crowded in the room, which could have done with a bit more square footage. The bed was comfortable, although I had some trouble sleeping at nights due to the many lights left on outside. I've noticed that this happens in some other motels in Westport, too. I suppose there's a tradeoff to be made between giving enough light for guests to move around outside during the night, but retaining enough darkness to make it easy to sleep inside. I would suggest toning the lights down a little, or fitting larger and thicker window coverings. But again, only a minor complaint.

The owner was friendly and pleasant, and I saw her trying to help some other guests out a couple of times during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.
We do have larger units with cooking options and even some with ovens.
We too will have 50+ television channels after being rewired next month.
Regarding the lighting it is necessary to leave the lights on for guests safety also for security.
We appreciate the points you have raised - we have to hope other guests are considerate to the person in the next unit.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NewZealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our unit was upstairs and although on the main street we had no traffic noise. The power shower really was !! The beds comfortable the kitchen well equipped with a fast toaster!! A first was in the bathroom a black face cloth marked 'make up' so obvious !!
Very clean unit with helpful operators

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hi, We appreciate your comments and pleased you enjoyed your Bella Vista experience. Look forward to having you stay again sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheemda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We thougt this accommodation was just rebuilded, everything looked brand new. We gave the owner a compliment for the cleannes and she told us they rebuilded 12 years ago.
Good laundry, good television en perfect beds. Two supermarkets located at about 400 m.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you come and stay with us again.

Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street | Buller, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.