We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Acommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   314 Palmerston Street | Buller, Westport 7825, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Westport
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Reasonable Acommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the Bella Vista Motel in Westport early in October 2011 during the World Rugby Cup. We decided to tour the South Island and found ourselves in Westport on the northwest coast. The population is around 4000 and stores on the main street close around 5pm during the week.

The Motel is located on the Palmerston St (the main street) just as you come into the main area of town. You are within walking distance to all restaurants and shops and there is surface parking beside your unit at the motel.

We had a family unit which had a separate bedroom with a single bed and also bunk beds. There was a king size bed in the main area with a kitchen & eating area (chairs).
The bathroom was large and clean and there is a flat screen TV in the main area.

We asked for WIFI and were told it is provided free for 1 hour.
We did use it and were able to send some large PDF files OK.

I did read some other reviews however the unit we had was clean and had no smells.
We had no problem just walking down Palmerston Street to find a place to eat.

All in all, it is not luxury but was comfortable accommodation and reasonable (approx $149 NZ). I have posted some pics since there were not many to view.

CanadianHolidayGuy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We appreciate your comments on your stay with us at Bella Vista Westport and hope you enjoyed the remainder of your travels. We thank you for adding extra photos
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
32
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

had family unit and it was very dark. the room had twin beds in the lounge/kitchen area and a single and bunk in room. rooms clean but the kitchen had sign to say that you would have to pay if there were any cooking odours (what cooking doesnt leave odours). with the small windows and poor ventilation decided not to take the chance and ate out instead.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Bella Vista Motel. Apologies for the dim light, after you checked out we found some light bulbs had blown. If we had realised they were blown we would have replaced them for you. We are sorry you found our cooking signage offensive. We are happy for people to cook in our units. We appreciate that guests read the signs and think about what they are cooking.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your journey around New Zealand. We were hoping your team would win their quarter-finals!
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Bella Vista Westport is a more than adequate little motel. We booked a studio room that morning and upon arrival were greeted by Marilyn very warmly. Trevor then showed us across to the room and recommended a couple of places to eat. They were both friendly and professional.

The motel is located at the end if the 'strip' and so is a bit of a walk to the restaurants. It is no more than ten minutes though and is flat and straight. Parking on site is more than adequate and well lit when we arrived early evening.

Our room was warm and clean. It had all the usual things you'd expect... The bathroom was well presented with an excellent heat lamp system that really warms it up. The extractor fan was reasonably efficient as was the heated towel radiator, all things that helped make a chilly Winter's evening and morning far easier to handle. The only negative element to the whole experience was the hairdryer! My wife said it was a little weak...

I would happily recommend this motel to friends and would consider visiting again if back in Westport, but if cold, might choose one of the motels slightly further up the high street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Would never consider staying here again. The room we were in was moldy in the washroom. There was no ventilation in the room or washroom so it got very muggy in the room after showering and the bathroom was dripping dew all over because of no fan. The room had a terrible smell.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I stayed here recently on business . This is a modern well appointed motel and is very clean . I left a folder at the Motel and the owners kindly sent it through to Auckland for me . I found it easy to book the room I required and the owners were easy to deal with
I would stay here again if in Westport

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Firstly I'd like to say that when you email this particular Bella Vista, you simply don't get a reply. Secondly when you book it, it comes through as a 'request only' and after that you receive no reply from them. Thirdly you pester them and pester them for a confirmation and finally you get one. I don't think I'll bother staying there again, as its a fairly ordinary place and they don't seem to know how to run a hotel. Its just that its the newest hotel in Westport that I stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Westport.
We are sorry you feel this way. Our policy is to respond to all emails, enquiries as soon as they appear. We have not had these issues before and would appreciate receiving any information that might help us look into the matter.
We invite you to visit again if ever in Westport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed here in a compact studio for three nights. We were on the ground floor and there was a table and chairs outside where we could sit and have breakfast. Our motel was spotless and very warm and comfortable. We have decided we will stay here from now on when we visit Westport. Although we were in a compact studio, there was everything we needed and the bathroom was spacious with a heated towel rail. We can thoroughly recommend the Bella Vista as a very enjoyable place to stay. Our hosts were friendly and made us most welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street | Buller, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.