We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for budget travelling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport to your Saves list
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
72 Queen St, Westport, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good choice for budget travelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I got a oom to myself with two beds for $60. The room had plenty of drawers and a wardrobe. The whole place has a warm and homey overall feel to it.Good well equipped kitchen and nice dining sitting area which was well warmed up by a coal stove.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
18
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for a few night and I could really recommend it: Everything is clean, the spaces are really nice, there are free herbs from the garden to add to your cook, a billiard and a tennis table, a lot of DVD choice and even a piano! Moreover, the staff is really welcoming and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I only stayed one night, but the impression I got of the hostel was a thoroughly positive one. The TripInn is actually a huge old and very charming wooden house with high stucco ceilings, a fireplace, a separate lounge and TV area and a good and very well-equipped kitchen. The common areas all have lots of comfortable seats and the big windows and decorated ceilings and chandeliers of the old house give the building character and atmosphere.

The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfortable with proper thick, soft mattresses and not the thin matrasses found at most other hostels. What struck me the most, however, was the beautiful and well-kept garden both out front and in the back, with lots of outside seating and tables, a few hammocks and lots of free fresh herbs from the garden that could be used for cooking.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and the check-in was over in record time. They have a handful of very cute pet dogs and cats that roam the hostel.

The bathroom had a bit of a strange smell, though I can't tell if that was just the way the bathroom smelled or it was because someone who had used it lacked basic personal hygiene.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. The house and property are really nice and comfortable, but I thought the 6-bed dorms (in a separate building) had too many beds for the size of the room. We only had 5 people in the room and it felt really crowded. I did like that most of the beds weren't bunks, but I think bunks would have been better use of space. I found it was quite cold at night with a window open, which we needed with so many bodies in the room. There was only 1 bathroom for the 5 or 6 dorm rooms, but I never had to wait. Nice kitchen, herb garden, porch, and lounges. Nice owners, but they're not often at the desk (responsive to the bell, though). Limited but decent wifi and you can hang out at the hostel if you have a later bus, which was very kind. OK for a short stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was the place that stuck in my memory after my 2 week trip to NZ. It's a great big rambling old wooden house, with great living areas, a huge lounge with sofas and TV, another big lounge/dining room with a big coal fire and plenty of table & chairs to sit at, and a great big kitchen with lots of cookers and fridge space.

The bedroom itself was a little small and basic, but it was perfectly adequate. The beds were comfy and the linen clean. We only stayed a couple of nights and it was fine for our purposes.

There's also a huge garden, with several decking areas, plenty of washing lines and a BBQ area (the weather wasn't good enough for us to try this out unfortunately).

The owners were extremely friendly, and happy to discuss our vague plans to help us decide where best to go. We went up to Denniston to see the Incline (after reading The Denniston Rose) and it was amazing. Very atmospheric. We also had a few drinks at the Denniston Dog at the suggestion of the owners and found this pub every bit as friendly and welcoming as they had recommended it. The hostel also has the cutest dog in the world! So despite Westport itself not being the most dramatic or picturesque place in the world, this hostel made our trip there very pleasant. If I ever found myself back there I would definitely book again.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Away from the toilets, because the doors keep slamming shut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had an ensuite double room. Good room size, clean and modern bathroom. Enough space in the kitchen and community areas. The outdoor area is also great with hammocks, BBQ area; awesome to relax. Very quiet at night. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This place was comfortable and very nice and clean. It was the only backpackers we stayed in in NZ as I had read the reviews that this one was excellent and indeed it was.
Would recommend it to any traveller.
Book directly with them and not through a third-party site.

Room Tip: We had a room with two single beds which were comfortable and well blanketed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Address: 72 Queen St, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.