We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for the dorms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport to your Saves list
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
72 Queen St, Westport, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good except for the dorms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. The house and property are really nice and comfortable, but I thought the 6-bed dorms (in a separate building) had too many beds for the size of the room. We only had 5 people in the room and it felt really crowded. I did like that most of the beds weren't bunks, but I think bunks would have been better use of space. I found it was quite cold at night with a window open, which we needed with so many bodies in the room. There was only 1 bathroom for the 5 or 6 dorm rooms, but I never had to wait. Nice kitchen, herb garden, porch, and lounges. Nice owners, but they're not often at the desk (responsive to the bell, though). Limited but decent wifi and you can hang out at the hostel if you have a later bus, which was very kind. OK for a short stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
19
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was the place that stuck in my memory after my 2 week trip to NZ. It's a great big rambling old wooden house, with great living areas, a huge lounge with sofas and TV, another big lounge/dining room with a big coal fire and plenty of table & chairs to sit at, and a great big kitchen with lots of cookers and fridge space.

The bedroom itself was a little small and basic, but it was perfectly adequate. The beds were comfy and the linen clean. We only stayed a couple of nights and it was fine for our purposes.

There's also a huge garden, with several decking areas, plenty of washing lines and a BBQ area (the weather wasn't good enough for us to try this out unfortunately).

The owners were extremely friendly, and happy to discuss our vague plans to help us decide where best to go. We went up to Denniston to see the Incline (after reading The Denniston Rose) and it was amazing. Very atmospheric. We also had a few drinks at the Denniston Dog at the suggestion of the owners and found this pub every bit as friendly and welcoming as they had recommended it. The hostel also has the cutest dog in the world! So despite Westport itself not being the most dramatic or picturesque place in the world, this hostel made our trip there very pleasant. If I ever found myself back there I would definitely book again.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Away from the toilets, because the doors keep slamming shut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had an ensuite double room. Good room size, clean and modern bathroom. Enough space in the kitchen and community areas. The outdoor area is also great with hammocks, BBQ area; awesome to relax. Very quiet at night. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This place was comfortable and very nice and clean. It was the only backpackers we stayed in in NZ as I had read the reviews that this one was excellent and indeed it was.
Would recommend it to any traveller.
Book directly with them and not through a third-party site.

Room Tip: We had a room with two single beds which were comfortable and well blanketed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Even if I probably wouldn't recommend Westport (other than being somewhere to sleep when you go to all the different activities in the area) Tripinn Hostel was great. We had a ensuite room with a nice double bed and a single. Clean room, nice beds. Nice and clean new bathroom. Service was also great and the rest of the hostel seemed very nice. Nice garden area to sit in (or lie in hammock) and great kitchen area etc. Great spot. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Love the owners! This place run by a family thus really feels like home, not like a dorm. The garden is very nice. comfortable bed. big kitchen and great garden. the common room is a nice place to relax. the house is quite historical and vintage. missed their pets as well, poppie especially. the price is great value for money. the best in town.

Room Tip: the double bed unit is really cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

With a 10 minute walk from the town centre and supermarket two blocks away was quite a relaxing stay. Rather a large house come hostel with a spotless kitchen, probably the best we have seen other than our own mothers, and massive living room. The room was good and not much if any noises during the night. Free bike hire which was a nice touch and sky tv.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Address: 72 Queen St, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.