We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge to your Saves list
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Palmerston St, Westport, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Westport
christchurch
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

the service is friendly, the rooms have space comfortable beds, showers a little small, but rooms are warm. Tv 's a little dated but picture is fine.50 plus sky one of the better ones in Westport.
plenty of parking. good enough that i going to continue to stay there

Room Tip: get back rooms away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaGateway, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always gratifying to know that our guests have found our rooms comfortable. We work very hard at presenting them to the highest possible standard all of the time . We are happy that you will be back and look forward to being able to host you again when you revisit Westport. (Although the TV's are not actually very old, we have been upgrading them as we are able to).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

One of the cleanest motels I have ever stayed in. Decor was good relatively new, with flat screen TV and sky. Amenties for tea and coffee were good included bikkeys as well, and very modern small appliances that you could use for breakfast.
Very friendly staff definitely recommend a great experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaGateway, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We set high standards for ourselves and our staff. It is nice for us to know that things like cleanliness and attention to detail are noticed and we also like to be able to pass on positive feedback to staff. Hopefully you will revisit Westport sometime and we will have the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay, pulled in , very friendly welcome, nice clean comfortable room.Laundry facility excellent, WiFi reception good, nice places to eat just down the road. Highly recommend as place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaGateway, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to be good. We strive hard to maintain our high standards and pay attention to detail at all times. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we hope that maybe you will be able to make a return visit some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012.
Quite a number of motels in Westport. Booked online and received a prompt reply.
A number of units available here perhaps not laid out in the most attractive manner. But everyting externally looked clean, fresh and encouraging. The studio unit booked was placed at first floor level and had a small balcony - great for breakfast or an early evening glass of wine. The unit was large - with a good bed, table and chairs, comfy armchair, and plenty of storage space. The kitchenette was good, well stocked and well lay-out. The bathroom was functional, did everything required, but looked a bit old fashioned. Wifi reception was good, provided at a reasonable price.
The owners were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Unpleasant welcome and just as bad send off.Mr Grumpy who checked us in lacked people skills.Made no effort to converse other than cursing the computer because it wasn't doing what he wanted it to do.When checking out once again no conversation other than telling me where to sign the payment.The west coast is renowned for it's friendliness,but we certainly didn't find it at this motel.
Other than that we had a great weekend in Westport being involved in the marathon where we met some really nice locals.
Certainly wouldn't recommend this place to our friends or family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We agree that the annual Marathon in Westport is a great event. It is our busiest weekend of the year and because of this we don't have as much time to converse with our guests as we normally would. The majority of our Marathon weekend guests are repeat guests who re-book from year to year and enjoy coming back. We regret that this guest felt our service fell short of our usual high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Due to local flooding we stopped "on spec" and were grateful for a last minute cancellation to find space at Chelsea Gateway. The room was clean and very adequately equipped. The management were helpful and referred us to an excellent restaurant. Location: It is on the main drag so local port traffic and the proximity of the police station meant that sleep was occasionally disrupted.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We are pleased that we were able to provide accommodation for this group, and that they found the unit, our service and the restaurant we recommended to their liking. We would like to correct a couple of points in relation to our location, which the guests appear to have been misinformed about. The port of Westport is not a large operation and generates only a small amount of traffic which uses a back street, not the main route past our property. Also, the police station is not located close to our property. As in any community, emergency services can be called out at any time and sirens may be heard, sometimes at night. Being a small town, this is thankfully not a frequent occurrence here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stopped overnight here. The staff were friendly and helpful and the unit we had was of good size and clean. We used the laundry room which was also very clean and the washing machine and drier efficient. The location was good with a restaurant across the road. For us a good stopover motel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 330 Palmerston St, Westport, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation for business and leisure travellers. Whatever the purpose of your visit, we would love to be your hosts and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Let us share our local knowledge and help to make your visit to Westport one to remember. ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge is a large and spacious complex of 20 units, with ample off-street parking.We offer a range of units to suit all requirements. Our units are clean, warm, comfortable, well-appointed and tastefully decorated. They range in size from studios (for 1 - 3 guests) to 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with 2 bathrooms (for up to 6 guests). Some units have spa baths for your complete relaxation after a day of travelling, exploring, sight-seeing or work. All units have cooking facilities, hairdryers, electric blankets, an iron and ironing board, and are fully serviced daily.Secure wireless internet is available with an initial access code supplied free of charge. We offer a selection of 50+ Freeview and Sky TV channels. There is a children’s play area with swings for the little ones and a trampoline. Guest laundry facilities are available.The property is located close to the town centre and within easy walking distance of restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.