We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Holiday Park & Motels

Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Westport Holiday Park & Motels to your Saves list
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   31 - 37 Domett St, Westport 7866, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon and it was raining and trying to find a powered site that was not on waterlogged grass or in a pool of water was difficult. The few sites that were sealed were also surrounded by puddles as was most of the park. Drainage is poor with some chalets having a pool of water at the entry. The 'chalets' looked very uninviting and basic and if you had booked one of these for a holiday you would be disappointed. Overall the park is rather poorly maintained. Bathrooms have had some form of 'upgrade' but still are not the best. Three out of 5 mens toilets had no toilet paper, the hairdryer in the ladies was not located near a mirror, light bulbs were not working, there was no heating which is needed in winter and the water pressure in the showers is poor. The kitchen looked better in terms of facilities but the room with pool table, computers and TV was very uninviting and had very old lounges you would not want to sit on. The laundry had a sign saying it is closed each day between 9.45 - 12pm. This is not practical at all. The clothes dryers look a though the lint has not been removed for weeks. The park has permanent tenants and everything looks as though it has been there since the 70's. The price was higher than most places we have stayed at in New Zealand and not good value for money. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the westport Holiday Park on 8 and 9 June 2012. Our accommodation was two chalets (they call them villas), as we were travelling as a group to attend a wedding. There no soap in the shower, inadquate heating ie: heater broken in one chalet, no electric blankets, and copius condensation resulting in wet bedding each morning. This is unacceptable in mid winter in the South Island (we were travellers from the North Island). We simply could not recommend this Holiday Park to anyone, especially when we finally managed to wake the owner at 8am on Sunday morning to pay $175.00 each per chalet, we then had to wait until she had showered before we could leave.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor first before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Sorry to see that the cold winter blues had set in.
Our En-suite chalets are explained quite clearly what is in each room and we do encourage our guests to come to the office if they have any other queries while staying here.
Our Studio and 2 Bedroom Motels have electric blankets and are larger sized rooms with cooking facilities- and are only a slightly more expensive.
Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The unit we had was self contained, clean, comfortable and close to shops, restaurants and all the sites. Great affordable accommodation for a family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you all again and get to enjoy the wonderful West Coast of the Southern Alps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 31 - 37 Domett St, Westport 7866, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westport Holiday Park & Motels 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Westport Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Holiday Park & Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.