We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in nz!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bazil's Hostel

Save Saved
You added Bazil's Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free surf lesson
1 review
“Best hostel in nz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed here for one night but i wish it was longer! This must be the best hostel I've ever stayed in. I stayed in the "unit" with its own kitchen and relaxing area with fire place.
It would probably be better to go in summer cause there's not much to do but going to the beach and surf.
But the hostel is definitely worth a visit! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bazils, Owner at Bazil's Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi There,
So Happy you enjoyed your nights stay at our Hostel. We noticed you commented on "not much to do in Westport". I hope you come back in the future to explore a bit as there is more to our Town than Surfing. Mountain Biking, Walks, Seals, Penguins, Fishing, Jetboating, Rafting, Horse Trekking, Kayaking, Beautiful Beaches, Breath taking Scenery, Mine Tours, History Trails, Art Trails, Great Food, Pools, Rock Climbing, Stunning Waterfalls, Caves, Wildlife and Unique Flora Fauna just to name a few..... Come back and we will let you know a few local secrets too ;)))
Safe Travels
Bazil's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    20
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
16
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We're a couple in our 20s and we stayed here for one night with the Kiwi Experience...

Good
- Very cool design; big communal rooms with fireplaces, couches, TVs, etc.
- Comfy beds, great night's sleep!
- NZ$5 for breakfast? Yep, but for that you get a glass of freshly squeezed juice and a handmade egg and bacon sarnie. Yum!
- Located 5mins to the supermarket, easy for a beer run or to get supplies
- Great kitchen with lots of equipment

Bad
- Small number of shared unisex bathrooms/showers
- Not much really going on in Westport, it's not a 'happening' area

We only stayed here for one evening, but it was a really nice little place with it's own identity. Worth a visit!

Room Tip: Stay in the 'Lounge' !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bazils, Owner at Bazil's Hostel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi There,
So Happy you enjoyed your nights stay at our Hostel. We noticed you commented on "not much to do in Westport". I hope you come back in the future to explore a bit as there is more to our Town than Surfing. Mountain Biking, Walks, Seals, Penguins, Fishing, Jetboating, Rafting, Horse Trekking, Kayaking, Beautiful Beaches, Breath taking Scenery, Mine Tours, History Trails, Art Trails, Great Food, Pools, Rock Climbing, Stunning Waterfalls, Caves, Wildlife and Unique Flora Fauna just to name a few..... Come back and we will let you know a few local secrets too ;)))
We have two shower blocks with 10 showers, you just need to go to the next block if first one is busy.
Safe Travels
Bazil's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hostel, laid back, allocated our rooms and then went to pay after we had settled in. Lovely big kitchen with lots of cutlery. It was cosy and warm when we arrived with a log fire burning in the living room, where we watched one of the hundreds of films they have on offer. Definately recommended stop if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

i stayed in Bazils like 3 months, i felt like i'm home there.
I love the kitchens n there r heaps of spaces to relax, to chat or hv drinks with friends.
but the most importnat is the staffs, they r so friendly, helpful, take care of me vy well.
when i travelled in NZ n came back to Bazils after one month, the first sentece i heard is "welcome home!", this was so sweet
just stay there, n u will know!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was travelling solo. I stayed one night and felt right at home. The feeling is relaxed and the services cozy. Bazil was a really good guy. I'll stay there again in the future cause I live in the Otago area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Bazils hostel was an actual lifesaver after escaping a dodgey wwoofing place. The bedroom was large and comfortable and the living room with a log burner and a million videos to keep you company couldnt be more cosy. The staff were fantastic and incredibly helpful - they posted my wwalking boots to me when I stupidly left them behind - legends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for only one night the day we came off the Heaphy, but had such a relaxing, comfortable time that, months later, we both swore that we'd stayed three times as long. The staff are friendly and laid back but will go out of their way to make sure you have a great time in Westport, whatever that means for you. Really an exceptionally comfortable hostel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bazil's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Bazil's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazil's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.