We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm log fire, cosy, friendly and fantastic location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bazil's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bazil's Hostel to your Saves list
Bazil's Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free surf lesson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Warm log fire, cosy, friendly and fantastic location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hostel, laid back, allocated our rooms and then went to pay after we had settled in. Lovely big kitchen with lots of cutlery. It was cosy and warm when we arrived with a log fire burning in the living room, where we watched one of the hundreds of films they have on offer. Definately recommended stop if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    29
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
19
47
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

i stayed in Bazils like 3 months, i felt like i'm home there.
I love the kitchens n there r heaps of spaces to relax, to chat or hv drinks with friends.
but the most importnat is the staffs, they r so friendly, helpful, take care of me vy well.
when i travelled in NZ n came back to Bazils after one month, the first sentece i heard is "welcome home!", this was so sweet
just stay there, n u will know!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was travelling solo. I stayed one night and felt right at home. The feeling is relaxed and the services cozy. Bazil was a really good guy. I'll stay there again in the future cause I live in the Otago area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Bazils hostel was an actual lifesaver after escaping a dodgey wwoofing place. The bedroom was large and comfortable and the living room with a log burner and a million videos to keep you company couldnt be more cosy. The staff were fantastic and incredibly helpful - they posted my wwalking boots to me when I stupidly left them behind - legends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for only one night the day we came off the Heaphy, but had such a relaxing, comfortable time that, months later, we both swore that we'd stayed three times as long. The staff are friendly and laid back but will go out of their way to make sure you have a great time in Westport, whatever that means for you. Really an exceptionally comfortable hostel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week in January because there was a storm coming and we didn't want to camp, had such an awesome time that I came back in March and stayed for a month!

Westport may seem a little quiet but there's absolutely no reason to get bored whilst you're here as the guys have plenty of local knowledge and enthusiasm for what's around. I had some lovely walks around the Seal colony and the amazing Charming Creek, got some good tips on really nice trails to run in the town. Also managed to fit in some mountain biking and kayaking, all organised by the hostel. The main thing I'd gone back for was to try to learn a bit of surfing and Bazil's definitely helped me out there! There were opportunities for lessons and if there was a bus going out with a free space I could go and practice myself.

I stayed in different rooms during my 2 stays, both times the rooms were clean and the beds super comfy. Never had any problems with the bathroom facilities being busy or unclean and the kitchens had plenty of pans and plates. There's lots of different areas where people can gather (2 kitchens, garden areas, separate lounges, BBQ area) so you could find your own space when you needed it but it was really easy to get chatting to others when you wanted to. My favourite places were the main lounge with the wood fire for hanging out in the evenings or on rainy days (there's also a new and shiny cinema the next street over) and the garden/deck for relaxing in the sunshine.

Loved it here and would definitely visit again if I'm in New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Bazils Hostel from the moment we checked in until we said our goodbyes this morning. Fantastic facilities and cosy surroundings were enhanced by awesome tunes and friendly staff. Our room was clean and comfortable and the kitchen is superbly appointed. There is a cosy lounge and a great garden.

I would definitely stay there again. I had a great night singing with a local band and partying with the friendly locals of Westport.

Thanks to Bazil Statham and the crew. See you again soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bazil's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bazil's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazil's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.