We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect example of what I want in a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bazil's Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bazil's Hostel to your Saves list
Bazil's Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Perfect example of what I want in a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Owners have a ton of local secrets and will keep you entertained for weeks. Westport turned out to be the best kept secret on my trip.
All the facilities you need and very well maintained hostel
Brazil's is a must see spot!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    43
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
31
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hostel!! The price was really good and everyone was so friendly. They offer info on lots of things to do around the area, i only wish i was there longer to do it all. The rooms were really nice as well, by far the best hostel i've stayed at while being in NZ. Also got a FREE yoga lesson!!! Was absoloutley brill and the instructor was lovely. Cannot stress how much i reccomend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I fell in love with this hostel as soon as I walked in. The colorful hammocks and picnic area make for an awesome relaxation spot, and there are so many great resources here -- they have a kitchen area (with spices, tea, coffee), TV, tons of videos and games, internet, and loads of suggestions for day trips and activities. The staff really make the vibe too, so so helpful and they make you feel at home right away. The beds/rooms were clean and comfortable, and it was an overall great space to meet other travelers. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to return myself!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The service was amazing, Bazils hostel was lovely to stay , we had the unit room which was 10beds, a kitchen toilet and lounge!!a wood fire in the middle of the room topped it off! The showers were so clean and a hot shower was even better. Bazil was very helpful and catered for everything i asked for, tea lights for candels and celotape! Perfect place to stay! Best place by far in nz :) thankyou.
Jenny (london)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is that kind of place where you just end up by coincidence on your way to somewhere else but as you're there you find that the place is well worth visiting.

Staff treat you like friends and will make sure you have an awesome time there. They even take you out on activities themselves! All around the hostel there's couches, hammocks, big cosy armchairs and benches where you can sit and do not much at all if that suits you better. LOTS of movies, games, sports and space to have fun. I felt at home right away and stayed there way longer than planned. I'm definitely going back there, that's how good it is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After a month travelling around New Zealand this was the perfect place to chill out and relax. Although Westport doesn't have as much full on action and adventure as Queenstown it makes up for this by being really laid back. I loved the homely, friendly atmosphere of Bazil's so much, I extended my stay to a week to recharge my batteries in front of the fireplace. The outdoor baths and free use of bikes are great extras. I hope I can return sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have been to stay at this place and can honestly say its not just the best place to stay in Westport but one of the best places to stay in NZ. Friendly, small, intimate and just a great place to "hang out" for a few days (or weeks, this place sucks you in!!!) whilst travelling down the West Coast of New Zealand. The guys that run the place are epic and the place just feels like "home" especially when I woke in the morning to find the cat asleep on the end of the bed (too cute) Put this down as a must stay place during your stay in NZ

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bazil's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bazil's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazil's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.