We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bazil's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bazil's Hostel to your Saves list
Bazil's Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free surf lesson
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

It was an amazing hostel. This is one is one of the best hostels i have ever been at. They are very nice live with. I felt very at home, they have a lot of movies that you can watch. They will take you to the beach to surf and answer any questions that you have. This hostel is the best one in Westport.

Room Tip: any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    30
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
21
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

While passing through Westport on a backpacking and fishing adventure, my buddy and I needed a couple of nights to stay and recharge. We would highly recommend Bazils guesthouse. The kitchen was great, the place is clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Phone, internet, laundry, showers, kitchen and comfy beds all were available.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had an awesome stay at Bazils. Great rooms at a good price. And where else can you randomly get asked to help prepare a seafood barbeque, where you get to try crayfish, deep fried shark and octopus? And my mate actually helped catch the fish!

Its also one of the places you can drink alcohol in which is pretty cool, its got a really laid back atmosphere as well. I'd recommend it to anyone doing a tour of New Zealand, well worth checking out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

i had a beautiful time staying at bazils, the bathrooms and kitchens,etc. are cleaner than the ones of the other hostels i stayed at and the owners are helptful and funny.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Excellent hostel,great owners.These guys were great let us park our motorcycles undercover safe and secure,wish we had more time to stay another night.Cheers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Really nice hostel. Rooms are spacious and have heaters. Really nice TV room with lovely fire. Kitchen nice and big. Very clean hostel and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure that you choose a room that is close to the bathrooms/ showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Bazils was one of the best hostel's we've stayed in. The owners were instrumental in our having a amazing time in Westport. Would recommend to anyone heading to Westport who wanted a great time in a friendly environment

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bazil's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bazil's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazil's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.