We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we Experienced in New Zealand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park
Save
You added Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   57 Marine Parade | Carters Beach, Westport, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ballyduff, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best we Experienced in New Zealand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Being new to the whole 'glamping' thing (we were in a motorhome), I was unsure of what to expect whilst travelling around the South Island. The holiday is now over and I can honestly say that this was the best Top 10 park we stayed at. The cleanliness is second to none, the facilities are great and it's located on a beach, perfect for an early morning stroll watching the sun rise and looking at the snow topped mountains. The 'family' bathrooms are spotlessly clean and of a good size, the water was hot and it wasn't a communal bathroom which I REALLY liked. The Manager was really friendly and informative and if I ever found myself in this area again, we would be booking in. At $42 a night, you can't go wrong, or complain!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy A, Owner at Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to keep our park clean and tidy. The people who clean for us, enjoyed your feedback. They also like to know they are doing a great job too.
The park is a nice quiet stay, giveing our guests a chance to relax and take in our beautiful peaceful beach.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
213 hotel reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park is located near SH67A which leads to Cape Foulwind. Westport airport and Buller River are at a 2 kms distance. The town centre is at 5 kms from the park. Westport is unimpressive.

At the doorstep of the park you find the uninviting beach. Walking on the beach at dusk we were welcomed by the infamous NZ sandflies.

The park offers cabins, studio units and powered & unpowered sites. We had a powered site. The park is adequate and reasonably well maintained. Facilities encompass free showers, kitchen & dining area, TV room and coin operated laundry. Wi-Fi internet is extra at NZ$ 5 for 24 hours.

Staffs were friendly and correct. We found the caravan park a good place to stay and we can recommend the park to any traveller who needs a place for his campervan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed Kitchen Cabin in early April, 2014. We arrivevd late afternoon after long hours of driving. It was raining so did not go outside to see the sorroundings. However, we can comment on a few things. Kitchen was fully equipped which was good for a family. The cabin had a little noisy fan heater but warmed up room quickly. No problem except noisiness. TV is old 14 inch square box one high up in the corner. So it was not so enjoyable watching TV. They have family bathroom. We did not use it but looked clean. Overall, good value for money and it is OK for one or two nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A Perfect place to stay. This would have to be the tidiest, cleanest holiday park we have ever stayed in, Being motor homers we have spent time in parks all over the country, so far this is by far the best. Owners were very friendly and helpful, camp is not overcrowded and all facilities are excellent. Not far from Westport and with a nice beach to stroll and surf cast from just across the road, Nice Café, bar/restaurant just 400 mtrs away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Seeing the park is named "seal colony" I did not expect to have to drive to a lookout & view the seals through binoculars. The park staff were great, facilities clean, very short stroll to the beach. Showers were not hot- more warmish.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for one night in a very large location for unpowered tents etc. it was so quiet and consequently relaxing. The facilities are excellent, all spotlessly clean & smelling beautiful which takes some doing when there are guests passing through constantly. The staff we met were so helpful & their advice was invaluable. We enjoyed the facilities so much that we won't hesitate to pay a return visit on our way back 'up North' for the ferry.

Greetings from 2 '50 something' campers from the UK

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Two spacious bedrooms and a comfortable family area. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice location close to the beach and also close to where the fur seals are. Kitchen was well equipped and we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 57 Marine Parade | Carters Beach, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seal Colony TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of accommodation from Park Motels to Tent Sites. Our Park is located on the beach front at Carters Beach, Westport. This 4 Star plus Qualmark rated Holiday Park offers a high standard of accommodation and communal facilities. Seal Colony TOP 10 Holiday park is the ideal base to explore the West Coast's breathtaking scenery and the famous Fur Seal colony at Cape Foulwind. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.