We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan & Ian made this our best B&B in NZ with their personal warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havenlee Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Havenlee Homestay to your Saves list
Havenlee Homestay
76 Queen St., Westport 7825, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free WiFi
Ranked #1 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Jan & Ian made this our best B&B in NZ with their personal warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I only tend to write Reviews on T/A when I have had good or exceptional service. I think that if you have had poor service, then you should take it up with the manager first; if you don’t receive a satisfactory answer from the manager, THEN complete your report on T/A. I also only use places that have had good reports on T/A, after weighing up the good and not so good views.
We stayed with Jan & Ian Stevenson at Havenlee in Feb 2013, while on a driving tour of the South Island after finding them the day before in T/A. All the positive stuff written about them before us, we fully endorse. We also found on their recommendation that the nearby Dennison Dog was an excellent place to eat in the evening. We would go back there like a shot, the next time we were in Westport

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenlee, Owner at Havenlee Homestay, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we appreciate your great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my first experience of a homestay environment. My engagement with Jan began some months earlier by phone, from which point on I can honestly say I felt welcome. Jan provided me with all the help I could have asked for in organising our trip, including help on local eating places. She came up trumps (with her recommendation).

When we arrived, we immediately felt part of Jan and Ian's "family", so helpful, welcoming and friendly, engaging and open house feel. Their home is immaculately clean and the rooms were amazing, as was breakfast. Homemade bread, preserves, nothing "prepacked".

Anyone who stays here is lucky to have selected a gem of a place. All the best Jan and Ian and thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenlee, Owner at Havenlee Homestay, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
What a brilliant review, thanks so much. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Havenlee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The review is long overdue. We were visiting NZ a year back, and CHristchurch had just been hit by an earthquake. We had to change our driving route and luckily Jan had a room available and offered it to us. Both Ian and Jan were the perfect hosts, and we were happy to have actually changed our plans and driven through the West Coast (which was outstanding). The room was perfect, we slept very well. Jan even helped out with our laundry after 7 days of travelling.

Ian recommended Denniston Dog for dinner, and it was one of the best meals we had throughout our trip. We will always lovingly remember the wonderful conversations we had over cups of tea and coffee.

Thanks again Jan and Ian for taking care of us! We loved our stay with you. Lots of love from Singapore and we hope to see you sometime in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were wanting a place to stay for one night within easy travel distance to go whitewater rafting at Murchinson and were so glad we chose Westport to stopover. Jan was a wonderful and welcoming host and our room, called the annex, was so spotless and beautiful. Bed was really comfortable and we had a separate bathroom and kitchenette which had everything you could possibly need. The breakfast in the morning was amazing!! We went up to the seal colony and stopped in for a couple of beers at a little pub called Star Tavern and had a great time. Jan recommended a little pub around the corner called the Denniston Dog. I would have to say we ate in some pretty nice restaurants in Queenstown but we had probably the best meal on our trip at the Denniston Dog. Westport is perfect if you want to whitewater raft in Murchinson as it is an easy one and a half drive and has a lot more to offer in terms of things to do. Overall a fantastic place to stopover.

Room Tip: Annex was great as it had own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenlee, Owner at Havenlee Homestay, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for that wonderful review, you were both fantastic guests and the reason why we enjoy what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Havenlee Homestay was by far our favorite accommodation during our 3-week honeymoon in NZ. Jan and Ian were so incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable. With their advice, we made the trip from Westport up to Karamea to see the Oparara Arches, as well the Charming Creek Walkway. Breakfast was delicious and filling - there was no shortage of options. We stayed in the Annexe and had our own king-sized bed, bathroom and little kitchenette. We slept like a dream and enjoyed the fact that unlike many of the other places we stayed, they actually had decent internet! (This was important to us, because we wanted to upload pictures for our friends/family to see back home). If you're looking for accommodations in the Westport area, look no further than Havenlee - you will NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the Annexe if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenlee, Owner at Havenlee Homestay, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for your fantastic review and we wish you both all the best for your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed one night on a self drive tour around the south island. We stayed in the annexe which was perfect for our needs and had a little fridge, microwave and tea and coffee making facilities. We loved the fluffy towels and toiletries in the bathroom and the werthers originals were soon polished off! Jan & Ian were so kind in spending time talking to us about the area and good restaurants and offering us special offers from their favourite places. Breakfast was great, really nice continential choice as well as cooked and then came the homemade muffins- wish I'd left more room!! Such a little gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I spent one night there on my trip from Glacier Area to Kaiteriteri. It Is one of the most lovely places I've ever stayed. The room is so clean and well appointed and it made me want to go home immediately to clean my own house. The included breakfast was not only full of choices but also fancily presented. The cookie Jan baked tasted heavenly, as well as the muffins she sent me for on the road. This place will inspire me always.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Havenlee Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havenlee Homestay

Address: 76 Queen St., Westport 7825, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Choice for First Class Hospitality. Havenlee Homestay is a spacious, quality home offering Bed and Breakfast accommodation to travellers. We are very centrally located in the South Island town of Westport NZ. There are 3 double guest bedrooms, 2 with queen sized beds, with private or guest share bathroom suite. The 3rd bedroom is located in an annexed (or self contained) area located in the southern end of Havenlee. The bedroom has a king sized bed which can be converted into two singles, a well appointed private bathroom, a kitchenette with tea/coffee making facilities, microwave oven, toaster and fridge. A generous full breakfast is served in the dining room. Havenlee is within walking distance of many restaurants. WiFi and laundry facilities are available to our guests at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Havenlee Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havenlee Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.