We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosy Kiwi B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cosy Kiwi B&B to your Saves list
Cosy Kiwi B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   186 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Cosy Kiwi for 2 nights. the rooms were clean and spacious. Eleanor and Derek were great hosts who provided much valuable and useful information about the area, history, restaurants, etc. Only regret was that our itinerary didn't allow us to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great little B&B in Te Anau. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and super clean. It's a good base for visiting Milford Sound. Eleanor and Derek were reallly nice and helpful and provided us with lots of info about the area and NZ in general. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our apartment was spacious clean and smart. Everything worked. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. The upstairs lounge and balcony were an unusual bonus. And I haven't even mentioned the breakfasts !

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our hosts Eleanor & Derek are great hosts. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast provided was fabulous.

All that said, I would highly recommend staying at the Cosy Kiwi if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Eleanor and Derek were great.We were there for 2 nights and Eleanor really helped with our 2 days there. She had a great breakfast ready at 7am the first morning so that we could enjoy a full day on the Milford Sound road prior to our 3:45 cruise. The next day she had another great breakfast ready at 6am so that we could be at Manapouri at 7:15 for a full day kayaking Doubtful Sound.She did it all, dinner reservations when we arrived late on friday, helped with washer and dryer,anything she could do to make our visit enjoyable.
Rooms were all spacious, clean with big modern bathrooms.
5 minute walk to town.
Highly recommend the Cosy Kiwi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, eitherside of a night at the Milford Sound Lodge, and it was great. Such a kind and helpful hostess. We got a great deal from the isite on the lake edge. Modern, comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Thank you Eleanor & Derek for helping make our stay in Te Anau so memorable. As a couple of travel-hardened Kiwis determined to experience more of our local experiences, we based ourselves at the Cosy Kiwi while we explored Te Anau and Milford Sound. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our room was spotless, warm (Eleanor had turned a heater on in anticipation of our arrival late on a Friday night) and comfortable. As mentioned by many previous reviewers, the breakfasts are fabulous. Home-cooked pancakes, home preserved fruits and no pre-packaged spreads in sight! Some overseas reviewers have suggested that the Cosy Kiwi is not a true 'Bed & Breakfast' in the European sense. To us this was actually a positive. The Cosy Kiwi offers all the benefits of an excellent Motel, but with the added benefit of Eleanor and Derek's attentive, but never overbearing, hospitality... and of course, that breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosy Kiwi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Kiwi B&B

Address: 186 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cosy Kiwi B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cosy Kiwi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy Kiwi B&B Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosy Kiwi B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.