We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly reception, but villas need an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Save Saved
You added Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly reception, but villas need an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night in June 2013. We were welcomed by the friendly receptionist in the modern reception area. She gave us plenty of information about Te Anau and our planned trip to Milford Sound the next day. A good first contact.

We had booked a villa, away from the main hotel and were struck by the contrast. The villas, although some updates have been made (e.g. Plasma TV and some furniture updates) were looking tired as we're the surrounding outside areas. The bathroom in particular needs a refresh - it looks at least 30 years old. The room was clean however.

We didn't see the main hotel rooms or the restaurant, so our review is based on the villas and common facilities.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear S.M.
I am delighted to hear you received a warm, friendly welcome to the hotel by informative staff. We are in process of refurbishing our villa bathrooms and hope we will have another opportunity to have you back and showcase the improvements first hand to you.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    107
    94
    19
    16
See reviews for
60
166
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Distinction has recently been totally renovated and has benefitted greatly from the experience. It is extremely well situated on the side of Lake Te Anau and is a very pleasant stop along the way. The room size was excellent and the food also excellent. Surprisingly there is also a spa, sauna and heated swimming pool. Altogether an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Bill T

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and found the facilities conducive to your stay. I agree we are a very pleasant stop on the way to Milford sound and there are many exciting excursions to do in Te Anau, so well worth the stop.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The heater was not even producing heat and it was making loud banging sound every 1 hour.Besides that the bed sheets were not white but yellowish.If it was not because of the snow storm,I would have driven back to queenstown.overall it was not the best experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Benjamin W
I am disappointed to hear the heater was not producing heat in your room and wish you had let us know so we had an opportunity to either fix it or offer an alternate solution to the issue. I hope this did not impact your experience of Fiordland. As you can appreciate in hotels sometimes equipment does need repair and we do strive to ensure at all times that we are checking rooms to ensure our standards are maintained. I am sorry you felt the sheets were off white and take these comments on board to ensure our standards are maintained at all times and all our guests leave the hotel recommending us. I would really enjoy the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would appreciate if you would not mind if I made contact with you to discuss further. Please feel free to send me details should you wish to get in touch and once again I apologise we did not meet your expectations for your stay in Te Anau.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a walk-in booking during the shoulder season and a great value. My friend and I stayed in a newly renovated standard double room and it was really nice - comparable to that of a Hilton or Marriott. The bar was really nice and it had free wifi in the bar and lounge area. We had to check out super early to get up to Milford sound for a cruise but they let us come back and hang out in the bar all afternoon using the wifi and relaxing. When I thought I had lost something in the room they let me return to the room and search it myself even after their house keeping crew didn't find anything. Definitely a great place to stay if you're looking for a more comfortable/classy hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear James
Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you found the hotel of great value and enjoyed the refurbished rooms. We are blessed to have the best location overlooking Lake Te Anau and are proud of our product, I am pleased to hear you felt the same way. If you are planning another trip we would love to have you return and please get in touch.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in one of the villas attached. As we could see the communal areas of the hotel were crisp, neat and modern. The villa, however, was in need of a freshening up and appeared to be a bit forgotten in the hotel complex. The gardens around the villas looked a little unkempt and in need of attention - the swimming pool was of average cleanliness but surrounding area was full of fallen leaves not swept etc and looked a little unloved. The villa itself was clean, reasonable size, but looked as it it was last decorated 15 years ago. Whilst never intended to be a self catering apartment a villa should offer a bit more independence than a hotel suite but even so, the facilities were slim - fridge very small etc. Staff in the hotel were friendly and polite. The location is right on the lake, plenty of parking and the hotel is close to the main street and so very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Kiwi818
Thanks for your comments about the hotel. I am happy to hear you found the communal areas crisp, neat and modern and the staff friendly and polite. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the villas, we are in the process of refurbishing them and take your comments on board and apologise if we did not meet your expectations here. If you are planning another trip please feel free to get in touch and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and Southland.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We last stayed here in 1974 and although changes have taken place over the years, the overall feel of the hotel is just as great as it was back then. The location is superb and the international staff extremely friendly ; they went beyond the call of duty to ensure we were comfortable and well cared for. We look forward to our next stay in September !

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs Lakeview room. The Fiordland views were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Robert B
I am delighted you returned after such a long time and am very pleased to hear our staff made a lasting impression on you. As discussed if you are returning, please get in touch as we would love to see both of you back again in September.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My partner and I won a nights stay at this hotel as a prize they very kindly donated to our raffle at work. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like stars. We were greeted with "You are our prize winners, we were wondering when you were going to arrive"! From then on, we were treated like VIP's. The hotel staff were extremely efficient, very friendly and helpful.
Our room was upgraded to a Lake view room - which was very well appointed, clean and extremely comfortable. We loved our stay so much, we decided to book in for another night.
We had breakfast the next morning before heading out for a cruise on Doubtful sound. The breakfast was fantastic, good value and had a large selection to choose from.
Both my partner and I had a fantastic time and were treated so well, I cant praise this hotel highly enough and would recommend Distinction Te Anau to everyone!
I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Maxieb
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you had such a memorable stay. I am overjoyed to hear our staff were efficient, friendly and helpful and you found the food fantastic and of good value. If you are returning, please feel free to get in touch and we will ensure your return stay is as memorable as the first.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Fiordland > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#15 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.