We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room excellent lake side views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Save Saved
You added Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Large room excellent lake side views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The room we had was huge and tatefully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. Internet was free in the bar area up the corridor. Overall a really good hotel in a great location. The bar area is very cosy and i would imagine a nice place to spend a winters evening.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms were definitely a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Rossco90
We have had several updates and refurbishments to the hotel over the past few years and I am overjoyed you had such a wonderful stay with us. Our bar area is warm and welcoming and a great place in all seasons to enjoy the scenery of southland. The fire place in the bar provides a relaxing place to spend during the winter months and the outside tables for the summer with the best views in town are a treat for travellers making the trip to Te Anau.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    112
    102
    19
    17
See reviews for
65
179
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel perfectly located close to all major restaurants, cafes and convenient shops. The team was very helpful. Ask for a refurbished room with an amazing view on the lake. My only recommendation for the hotel would be to install the WIFI in the entire hotel, the lobby area can be very busy with other users which can reduce the speed of the internet. Overall a good stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear OlivierNZ
Thanks for yor comments and I am delighted to hear you received an upgrade to a Lakeview room which met your needs for your stay in Te Anau. We do offer free Wi-Fi in the Restaurant, Bar and lobby for all our guests but apprecaite your comments.
Hopefully we will see you back again next year.

All the best
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

excellent hotel, overlooking the lake, short walking distance to shops and amenities, rooms comfortable and well serviced, dining room warm and comfortable plenty space to move around. food very good and served hot, all staff were polite and courteous, for those wanting to take the plunge there is a marriage chapel on the grounds with glass all round. This hotel is a must return for quality and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Donald Y
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, found the staff polite and courteous and the quality and services met your satisfaction.
Our wedding Chapel is beautiful and what a great view overlooking the breath taking Lake Te Anau, we are very proud to have such an amazing venue for couples to celebrate their special day together with family, friends and love ones. I sincerely hope we have another opportunity in the not too distant future to have you back staying with us.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Thanks so much for a great stay. The lakeview room was beautifully furnished with magnificent views of Lake Te Anau. Dinner at the restaurant was supberb, and the bar is a great spot for drinks anytime of day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Wanaka- Isite

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to come and see the hotel. It was great meeting both of you.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Like I imagine most people, we stayed at the Distinction Te Anau so that we would have good access to the Milford Road and the Milford Sound. The hotel is fairly large, right on Lake Te Anau, and we had a second floor room with a lake view. The room was OK, similar to many of the hotels we'd stayed in during our trip to New Zealand. The room and furnishings were clean, but they seemed a bit "tired" and in need of updating.

The room was very warm in the late afternoon, and the thermostat didn't work to cool the room down. When reported to the front office the next morning, they said that they would take care of the temperature issue in the room. When we returned in the evening, the AC still didn't come on, but they had plugged the heater back in and set it on low...

I have to agree with another reviewer that this hotel seems to cater to large tour groups, and it seemed that most other guests were from such tours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear DSWroth
Thank your feedback, I am disappointed to hear you found your room tired. We have recently refurbished all the main hotel rooms and are currently in progress with updating our villa rooms. I will follow up about the heating in your room and apologise if this caused you discomfort during your stay and was not fixed as you had requested, while at the hotel.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Basic room with 2 double beds looking out to the lake. Bathroom also basic. This was room 213. Ask for 217. It is a suite with a king and a nice living room with a balcony. We had to go to the Lobby to use the Internet . There is no elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Acey07
Thanks for your comments, we are privileged to have such picturesque views overlooking lake Te Anau. We do offer free wi-fi in the lobby for our guests, which is always well received. The hotel does not have an elevator but is only on 2 floors, i.e. ground floor and level 2. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and hopefully we will have another opportunity one day of welcoming you back.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are semi renovated, the bedroom looked good but the bathrooms are dated. I stayed in a garden villa and found it comfortable, separate bedroom, lounge room, fridge and breakfast equipment etc. only shortfall was the dated bathroom, but that was clean and in working order so good for a short stay. Staff were professional and you can't go past the location and free Internet access in the lobby. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sosuma

Thanks for taking the time to write. We have refurbished all the hotel bedrooms and are in process of refurbishing the villa room bathrooms. It is great to hear you found the staff professional and I sincerely hope we have an opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel. If you are planning a return visit please do not hesitate to get in touch and I will ensure your stay is a memorable one.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.