We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations not met” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glacial Rock B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacial Rock B & B
Save
You added Glacial Rock B & B to your Saves list
PO Box 123 | 141 Tutoko Lane, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High expectations not met”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

On the plus side the cottage was clean and well equipped. The breakfast supplies were generous and delicious, especially the home made muesli. The location (apart from the disappointing view of the lake) was quiet and picturesque. The swing chair on the porch was a lovely feature, perfect for quiet contemplation.
Now to the reasons for my average rating....
The first thing that surprised us was the view, or lack of it because the advertising material including website and business card showed a much better view of the lake from the cottages. We had also just spent 4 nights in Queenstown for two thirds of the price in 5 star accommodation on the edge of Lake Whakatipu so had very high expectations as we approached Glacial Rock.
After our arrival and smooth check-in via a note on the door as Sarah was out we went into town to stock up for dinner. On our return our key would not open the door, luckily as it turned out we just caught Sarah and Finn before they went into town, otherwise we would have been locked out as we had the key to the wrong cottage. Sarah was very helpful and apologetic, but we would have been locked out if we had missed them so it was not the best of starts.
We felt there was an over-supply of instructions especially for people like us who stay in self-contained accommodation often, eg right down to what cutting board to use for what. We then decided to use the BBQ and this was cob-webby and neglected looking, surprising given it was December. The area around both cottages was in need of a good weed which also contributed to a slightly neglected feeling. At this point the rate we were paying started to feel "high", especially in comparison to the cheaper and superior former accommodation we had come from.
Sarah and Finn did seem under pressure as they had started a recent pizza restaurant venture in town, and there was a large amount of advertising and recommendation to go there - fair enough, but perhaps less is more.
We had a brilliant day at Milford Sound, perfect weather, views etc and got back quite late. The next day as we were getting organised to leave both the owners were outside from about 9 am onwards gardening and weed spraying right around the cottage we were staying in. My husband had to warn me not to come out of the shower too uncovered because we did not have the curtains pulled and there was a person spraying the weeds outside (who turned out to be Finn). We felt very awkward and uncomfortable about this.
I know there will be good explanations for all of our feedback, but we did feel slightly disappointed with our stay here. In fairness it would have been better to have spoken with Sarah at the time of our departure (or emailed later) but I was just so irritated by the weed spraying I just wanted to get out of there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was by far the best farm stay we have experienced. Sarah, Finn and the children were friendly and welcoming. My 4 year old was bottle feeding a lamb within minutes of arriving, much to his delight. The kids had a ball, walking or quad biking around the farm, playing with the friendly dog, feeding and fetching eggs from the chickens and helping get the horses ready for a ride.( including a bareback pony ride for our kids). Us adults enjoyed the beautiful setting and the clean and comfortable cottage. Wine and crackers on the deck as the sun set behind the snow capped mountains ...unbeatable! The glow worm boat trip must not be missed as well as some walking on the many stunning tracks nearby. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have stayed with the Murphys twice now. They are a delightful welcoming family. We loved feeding the baby lambs twice and day and enjoyed dinner in their Pizzaria da' Toni in Te Anau. We loved the fresh milk and eggs for breakfast. Te Anau is a favourite NZ destination with excellent hikes within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This B&B farmstay was very comfortable and roomy - new furniture, beds, bathroom, & well equiped kitchen for our family of 3. The views from every window over the fields and hedges to the mountains was stunning. There is a friendly dog, numerous chickens, and graising elk. The farm is about 5 minutes out side of Te Anau. Owners, Sarah and Finn were so welcoming - fresh eggs and milk, breads and jams, and offers to observe farm activities. We also went to their restaurant Ristorante PIzzeria da Toni and had very tasty thin crust pizzas and homemade tiramisu that was the best ever! Wish we could have stayed more than two nights. Very relaxing. Lots to do in the area - hiking tracks and touring MIlford and Doubtful sounds.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We actually didn’t plan to spend much time in Te Anau except to do a stopover on our way to and from Miford Sound. However, when we went online to book the Miford Sound Chalet, we were left with only a one-day stay as the rest of the weeks were fully booked. Rather than make a 5-6 hrs drive back to Queenstown/Kinloch Lodge, we decided to do a farmstay at Te Anau. Turns out this was one of the most enjoyable stay in New Zealand.

The Murphys is a hardworking lot, running a farm, bed and breakfast and a restaurant. They were on their way to their restaurant when we arrived, and we were told to let ourselves into the cottage. When we checked into the cottages, we were greeted by a beautiful drawing by Olivia (the eldest daughter).
The first impression we had when we stepped on the porch was the peacefulness and tranquility of the place. Right before us is a landscape of pastures, trees and mountains, and the birds chirping non-stop. We could have sat on the porch the whole day and not do anything else. For people escaping from the city bustling noises, there is nothing more peaceful we can ask for.

The cottage is spacious, clean and comfortable. For breakfast, there are cereal, farm eggs, fresh milk, juice, organic coffee in the cottage for your own cooking. The farm eggs are awesome, and we can’t seem to get enough.

Stay at the cottage was very discrete and private. We were met by Sarah on the next morning after our arrival. Despite their busy schedule, Sarah and Olivia gave our son and the daughters of another guest in the next cottage a farm tour and pony rides that morning. The kids loved running around and feeding the horses.

This place is a great escape for people wanting to get away from the city. Te Anau is a little off the way, but if you are making a trip to Miford Sound, and do not wish to make the long journey back to Queenstown is a single day, Te Anau and the Gracial Rock B&B is a great place to stay a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Glacial Rock is located just outside of Te Anau, and is part of a working farm. The facilities at the cottage are good, the kitchen is complete, the bed is comfortable and there is a spacious bathroom. The views from the cottage of the mountains across the field is somewhat obscured by rows of trees in the distance. The cottage has a veranda with a swing and a shared BBQ between two cottages. The cottage had excellent internet connection. Basic breakfast supplies are provided at an additional cost.
Like nearly all NZ farmyards, they are built for function and consequently tend not to be very picturesque which is the case with this farm. Unfortunately there is a small paddock outside the cottages where some horses were kept which meant there was just a lot of horse poo around.
We must have been one of the first guests as the outside furniture was not set up for us.
All in all I found that this stay lacked the convenience of being in town and did not have the charm I had expected by being on a farm. Also when comparing this stay to other self catering accommodation we stayed at during our 6 week trip in terms of value and service, we found Glacial Rock an average stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage AK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

While not a typical B&B (staying in the home, having breakfast prepared for you) we had a wonderful stay. We were given a cozy cabin (complete with in floor heating and a killer view) and everything we would need to make breakfast, eggs and milk fresh from the farm! Sarah made sure to let us know which fields were okay to walk through and how to get to the river. Free internet, comfy beds and couches, and a folder full of information about the area. I expressed an interest in helping feed the four pet sheep and was warmly encouraged to do so whenever it worked out. We also liked that it was off the main road, nice and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacial Rock B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacial Rock B & B

Address: PO Box 123 | 141 Tutoko Lane, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Glacial Rock B & B Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacial Rock B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.