We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Additional charge for ketchup.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill

The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill
Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
03 249 8801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kumeu, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Additional charge for ketchup.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our group was staying overnight in Te Anau prior to walking one of the spectacular tracks in Fiordland. As we had an early start we needed an evening meal, we chose the Ranch, I ordered blue cod ($36) my meal came with salad and fries. I asked the waitress for some ketchup to enhance the chips, no problem it was quickly bought to the table. On paying our account for 5 meals and drinks I noticed a charge for the ketchup. I commented to the person to whom I paid the account that this charge was unreasonable in view of the price of the meal, she would not adjust the bill. This reaction by the staff member of The Ranch left a negative feeling about this establishment, and reinforced that the meals are overpriced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    103
    41
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great value for money roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

They serve an all day roast here for just 15 dollars. Choose from beef, pork or lamb. The service is quick, the food is excellent. Top end of town, but well worth the stroll.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Poor quality meals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very friendly and quick service, unfortunately the meals were over priced and of poor quality. I payed nearly $40 for my surf n turf meal, the steak was full of gristle and fat, a large portion of it was inedible, there was one unidentified object covered in crumbs sat on top, possibly a scallop or a muscle and two measley slices of smoked salmon that was so old it had lost its flavour and colour. My husband had the scallops, it became apparent why they were crumbed, as they must have been out of the freezer and tasted bitter, he didn't even bother finishing his meal. Feel bad for bagging them out but they really do need to start sourcing fresh, quality produce if they want charge an arm and a leg for a pub meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stopped in for a snack for lunch and shared the beef and bean nachos. Like all nachos in the Southern Hemisphere, they were not particularly authentic, but for austral-nachos they were very good in deed.

I'd also add that the drink prices seem to be the cheapest in town.

The beer garden is great if the weather is fine, and the staff, although they all look like they are 14, were very polite and efficient.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The food was good, big serve so you won't need to order a starter. It was a very popular place, quiet when we arrived at 7:00pm but fairly packed when we left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.