We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food for a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill

The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill
Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
03 249 8801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oostende
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went there on recommendation of our motel host, and were not disappointed. The place is a combination of restaurant, bar and casino, but the steak we had was well cooked and really tender and came with an excellent sauce. Overall, a very good price-quality restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    101
    41
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I've been back 4 times so far......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! The hostesses really look after you without being overbearing. The food is amazing and FAST and reasonably priced. I'd come for the desserts alone if the mains weren't as good as they are. The atmoshpere is pleasant and genial. As a single diner they don't make you feel like a pariah and they treat you the same as all the other diners. This place is my new 'local' in Te Anau.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So Good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was one of our best meals of the trip. We had spent the day on tour through the Doubtful Sounds and needed something warm & filling. Decided on a whim to go here, and was busy with locals. Warm & great service. I had the fish (blue cod in a egg light batter) which was really good and healthy. Hubby had lamb shanks and raved about them. We both had apple pie for desert - YUM!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Small town attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Run by school kids, yes I kid you not, they were discussing what they will do when they leave school next year, then they had the nerve to not serve us drinks as we didn't have a nz drivers licence, that's after eating a meal.. Bizarre , small town attitude .. Avoid if possible the meal was small and expensive .. Save your appetite and money for queenstown,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had the loveliest meal at The Ranch today at lunchtime (midday meal). The offer a good variety both in meals and in prices. Two of us had the Sunday roast - today it was lamb - and the others had fish. My son (20) couldn't manage all his dessert after a plate of fish and chips.
All very tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.