We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've been back 4 times so far......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill

The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill
Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
03 249 8801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 restaurants in Te Anau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“I've been back 4 times so far......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! The hostesses really look after you without being overbearing. The food is amazing and FAST and reasonably priced. I'd come for the desserts alone if the mains weren't as good as they are. The atmoshpere is pleasant and genial. As a single diner they don't make you feel like a pariah and they treat you the same as all the other diners. This place is my new 'local' in Te Anau.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    71
    87
    35
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So Good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was one of our best meals of the trip. We had spent the day on tour through the Doubtful Sounds and needed something warm & filling. Decided on a whim to go here, and was busy with locals. Warm & great service. I had the fish (blue cod in a egg light batter) which was really good and healthy. Hubby had lamb shanks and raved about them. We both had apple pie for desert - YUM!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Small town attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Run by school kids, yes I kid you not, they were discussing what they will do when they leave school next year, then they had the nerve to not serve us drinks as we didn't have a nz drivers licence, that's after eating a meal.. Bizarre , small town attitude .. Avoid if possible the meal was small and expensive .. Save your appetite and money for queenstown,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had the loveliest meal at The Ranch today at lunchtime (midday meal). The offer a good variety both in meals and in prices. Two of us had the Sunday roast - today it was lamb - and the others had fish. My son (20) couldn't manage all his dessert after a plate of fish and chips.
All very tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice meal good kids meals ,great place for families,good size meals,helpful staff ,decor is nice like an old country ranch

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.