We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill

The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill
Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
03 249 8801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Food was delicious both fish and roast lamb. Service was ok (we will excuse lack of manners of some of the staff).

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    103
    41
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Big meals and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

We went here for dinner I had lamb shanks and my Husband had surf and turf. There were 2 massive shanks with mash and peas with gravy. Was a great meal And very filling I couldn't finish mine. My Husband said his was good and loved the salad too!
The service was good and the staff were friendly. The atmosphere was just like a ranch with the country music too. The only down side was the whole thing cost $100 which was just 2 meals and 4 drinks.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a good meal at the Ranch. Nice food and good service.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service from staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stopped in for a drink and were unimpressed, the girls behind the bar were drinking and werent the least bit attentive. We decided not to go back for dinner.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stopped here for lunch when we first arrived in Te Anua and enjoyed good food and great service.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.