We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lamb in South Island NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redcliff Restaurant & Bar

Redcliff Restaurant & Bar
12 Mokonui Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
03 249 7431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best lamb in South Island NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

For some odd reason, with all the sheep you see being farmed by the road, you would think most NZ restaurants would serve lamb. Not the case. It took some time for me and my bf to find a legit place serving lamb. After reading some tripadvisor reviews, we went with Redcliff. When we first arrived at the restaurant, we thought we were going into someone's house. We decided to sit in the back since we liked the ambience of the outdoor patio rather than someone's living room. Redcliff does a real good job warming the patio up in the winter w/ strong heat lamps. We were first aghast when we found the main dishes were $30-40, but then found out this was the norm for NZ. My bf and I were both very happy with our main dishes, and it filled us up quite happily w/o ever ordering anything else. My Lamb Compar composing of TWO types of lamb spare ribs (Merino and Southland lambs) was absolutely delicious and melted off the bone. My bf's NZ Prime Steak was equally delicious and NZ grass-fed beef, I have to admit, taste BETTER than USA's beef. I don't know exactly what NZ farmers do differently but maybe the grass is greener on their side? Definitely stop by Te Anau to have some steak and lamb at Redcliff on the way back from Milford Sound!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    128
    29
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the Goat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A cozy restaurant in a little house, great food with an excellent menu and fairly priced wine list. Tried to walk in for a table on a Sunday night but they were booked and we made reservations for a Tuesday. Redcliff highlights local foods, with local seafood, hare, venison and goat among the options, and as I do not get the chance to order goat in the States, I gave it a try and was amply rewarded. My wife loved the venison. The best of the three restaurants we tried in Te Anau.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise in Te Anu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner here so much our first night in Te Anu we returned the following night. Service was excellent and friendly with even the owner visiting with us. One night we had the local venison and the other we had the local oysters and green lip mussels. Everything we had was well prepared and enjoyable with wines from the Central Otago region. On both evenings we chatted with other visitors from Australia and England as well as locals and came away with other suggestions for our trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Children catered for too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wonderful varied menu and delicious food - children had special platters that kept them happy. Warm friendly staff and great service. Wild hare, venison , pork belly were all great dishes and invoked a little bit of food envy!! The desserts did not disappoint and we all left feeling very satisfied and enjoyed a great dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent food in casual surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The owner of the Te Anau B&B where we stayed mentioned that many of her guests had enjoyed Redcliff Restaurant. We walked in early on a Saturday night without reservations and we were seated right away as the place was nearly empty. A half hour later, it started to get busy. We were wary of ordering too much as when we entered the restaurant, we couldn't help but see into the kitchen, where two young men (they looked like teen agers) were behind the stove. This made us skeptical, as we were already on-guard, having had a bad expensive meal in Queenstown a couple of days earlier. So we only ordered two mains, even though we were hungry as we had hiked up to Key Summit earlier in the day and hadn't eaten since breakfast.

Our worries were unfounded. We had two excellent meals here--so hearty and delicious. My husband had the Wild Goat Goulash served with herb bread dumplings. I had the Fare Game Wild Hare Backstrap served medium rare atop a crispy parmesan cased mushroom & truffle oil barley risotto, with wilted greens & baby beets. The strips of hare were perfectly done, absolutely tender, and the risotto was creamy and luscious. We each had a glass of 2009 Grasshopper Rock Pinot Noir, which was as good a value as the food.

Even though we only ordered mains, we left satisfied. The restaurant is small, charming, and casual, but would also make a nice spot for a romantic meal. Wish we could go there more often. We would be regulars. A wonderful restaurant that excels at serving game meats.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redcliff Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Redcliff Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcliff Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.