We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant

Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant
Loop Rd, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
(03) 249 7770
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The set menu for 4 people was good value for money. The dishes were tasty and service was quick and efficient.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A few things wrong but good food and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have been here a number of times and have had takeaways fro here also. The waitress got a few things wrong this time - squid rather than mushroom entrée and one of the mains a bit confused, but I suspect it was because of the lack of English on the part of our waitress. Both small errors were very quickly corrected with no fuss and my wife and I got on with our meals. In usual Ming Garden style, there was plenty of food, it was delivered hot by busy but attentive staff and it was very reasonably priced. Will we eat there again - definitely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home delivery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very tasty, food fresh, and excellent value for money. we got this as a home delivery. great on a wet Te Anau night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Meals were very cheap but dominated by cabbage, cauliflower and other vegies that are usually less popular with kids. Meat dishes had token meat in them. Plus side - they deliver if staying locally.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Average Chinese Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

After a disappointing pizza and pasta dinner the night before, we decided on something safe - Chinese. We thought we would not go wrong with Chinese food - I mean, how difficult would it be to cook fried rice. Boy, were we wrong! Very average chinese food and at the price you pay, not worth it. There are better choices in Te Anau, albeit limited.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.