We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local David” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Toscana

La Toscana
108 Milford Rd, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
(03) 249 7756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Local David”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, fresh Italian food. Small and friendly restaurant and very busy- a good indicator. Fair prices and while the menu is limited the quality is top end.
Highly recommended and better than it's Italian neighbour competitor in my opinion.
Only minor criticism - the waitress did not pour a sample of wine for tasting and acceptance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi David, thank you for taking the time to review my restaurant. Always fantastic to get a locals perspective! See you again soon, Mark :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    75
    25
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just on the main street where there is lots of parking. Great Italian food and friendly staff. You can BYO drinks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to review my restaurant. Stoked that you felt we have "great Italian food and friendly staff" :) Hope to see you again soon, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“When in Te Anau, why not do what the Romans do?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ate here twice and both times enjoyed the friendly, relaxed and efficient service that supported great food. If you don't eat anything else there, have the "Dolce di Vera" beautifully light and delicious. The chef seems to have a real flair with desserts, but the mains also were very tasty. Well priced for what you get, with a good wine list, strong coffee (yay!) and a surprisingly good Grappa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to review my restaurant. Great to hear you enjoyed it so much, we love it when people decide to eat here multiple times on their stay, it lets us know we are doing it right :) Hope to see you on your next visit to Te Anau, Mark :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were in Te Anau just for 2 nights and we ate at La Toscana both nights because the food was fantastc and staff very friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review my restaurant. Really thrilled that you enjoyed it so much! Hope to see you again soon, Mark :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always get lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have used this restaurant a number of times over the years and always the food is great. The staff are friendly. This time we used the Early Bird Specials what a great variety of food on menu ......... would we go back again ........ yes we would

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Faye, thank you so much for your review. Love hearing such positive feedback from people who visit us often! Look forward to seeing you again soon, Mark :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Toscana also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to La Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Toscana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.