We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast

Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
228 Milford Rd., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights in small studio cottage at the back. It was quiet and private, with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom with good shower and a small kitchen with fridge, microwave, and cooktop. Breakfast basics were provided in our room. For a fee and advance notice Keiko will prepare her Japanese breakfast for a minimum of two people. We elected not to do this--just too much food for us.

The studio was very clean and was cleaned and/or freshened for us whenever we were gone for more than a few hours, so we always came back to a tidy room with fresh towels.

One Keiko and Kevin provided us with fresh flounder they had just caught off the beach nearby, which was certainly beyond expectations. We poached it simply for a delicious dinner.

Kevin is very knowledgeable about the area, but can get a bit prickly if you question his recommendations. Once he realized we would go our own way, we got on fine.

Room Tip: The studio cottage is located at the back of the property away from the road, and is therefore the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at Keiko's cottage for one night in January on our way to Milford Sound. We chose to stay here based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor.

We were running late as we had a long drive into Te Anau from Franz Joseph and called in to advise the owners of that to ensure that we can still check in. We spoke with Kevin who seemed very disgruntled that we were arriving so late. It wasn't until we asked him if he would like us to cancel our reservation that he stopped complaining. We asked if they could just leave the door open for us and he agreed to. We arrived as we had advised him at 10:30pm and Kevin was there to greet us after all and point us to the cottage. We appreciate that it may be outside of check in hours, but given that Te Anau is a tourist destination I am surprised that he showed this much displeasure at us arriving at 10:30 pm.

The cottage itself was a lovely one bedroom with a nice garden. Unfortunately we were leaving the next day early and could not enjoy it. Although the cottage itself was large, the bathroom was tiny. The bedroom was also really cold.

Kevin also asked us upon our arrival what time we would require breakfast. We told him that we had a 10am cruise booked in Milford Sound and asked how long it would take to get there. He told us that it will take us at least 2.5 hours, which surprised us since the DOC website said it was a 1 hour and 40 minute drive. When we mentioned that, he insisted that he was right and that we should get breakfast for 7am which we did. Having read so many nice reviews about the japanese breakfast we were expecting a nice breakfast before setting off for our trip, however we were very disappointed. The breakfast consisted of cereal, a piece of toast and some jams. Given that there was nowhere to stop before our milford sound cruise or after, we ended up starving by the time we arrived back. Neither Kevin nor Keiko told us that there was no place to stop between Te Anau and Milford Sound and that there was no town in Milford Sound where one could buy something to eat. We were further surprised that inspite of Kevin's insistance that by leaving at 7:45 we were going to miss our cruise we made it in traffic in 1.5 hours and so ended up spending almost an hour hanging out at the docks hungry and with not much to do.

Overall, the cottage was nice, but we got the distinct impression from the hosts that they were trying to rush us out and save money on us as much as possible. Or maybe they were upset that we didn't by the cruise from them or were only staying for one night. Having stayed at a number of B&Bs on our trip in new zealand this one was not high on our enjoyment list. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japankiwi, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Franz-Te Anau is a 10.5 hour drive (AA NZ) Ms. P called from the halfway town of Wanaka at 7.00pm to inform us that they would be arriving late. I expressed my concern that their arrival here sometime after midnight would disturb our other guests, she snapped back that they would seek accommodation elsewhere, It was Jan 4 and Te Anau was busy and accommodation elsewhere would be hard to find at that late hour so we decided to wait up for them (silly us!)
Their cottage has 6.5kws of heating plus electric blankets on the bed, they are the 1st people we have had stay that were incapable of turning on/up the heat.
The Japanese breakfast has to be preordered and is an additional charge, P and P did not order Japanese breakfasts so were served our standard continental, homemade toasted bread, fresh rolls, homemade yohgurt, fruit, cereal, juice, tea, coffee etc.
The 2008 Labour government made it illegal to force feed tourists, that they had 'a piece of toast' for breakfast is not our problem.
The DOC website that P mentions clearly states that the drive to Milford takes 2 hours no stopping, Destination Fiordlands site 2-2.5 hours, add to that the time it takes to walk from the carpark area and the check in time, the information I passed to them was correct, we didn't try to get rid of them to save money we just didn't want them to miss their boat.
Do the maths, depart Te Anau 7.45, arrive Milford 9.45-10.15, walk(run) to the vistors centre 10 minutes, hey you've just missed the 9.55 departure.
The Blue Duck cafe is clearly signed as you enter Milford, P & P could have 'ducked' in there instead of 'hanging aroud the docks, hungry and with nothing to do'
Simple research on the Net clearly shows that there are no towns between Te Anau and Milford, they should have organised lunch the previous day, why blame us for the hunger pangs!
We don't care where people purchase their excursions from but the small commission all agents receive from the cruise companies helps offset the costs of accepting credit cards and the free WiFi we provide, we offer a free/same price booking service and you don't have to pay for your excursions until you check out from here, now that's a pretty good deal.
Looking back over this reply to P's review, I really wonder why she blames us for her experience, very late and unapologetic arrival, had a cold night ( it was very warm then) didn't eat the provided food, ignored my good advice about the Milford road and drove on one of the most scenic roads at breakneck speeds to 'hang around the docks'!!!!
Bye sweetheart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This place is great. Small, tiny, warm, just like home, especially the beautiful garden.
We would like to especially thank to Kelvin. You are the best advisor during our trip. We were so right that we followed your advice to go to Tekapo and saw the amazing lakes you recommended to us. You are so right. Thanks for your advice. Just like you said, you should write a new guide on how to explore in NZ. Next time, we will definitely come back and go fishing and hunting with you. And we must say the Japanese breakfast & dinner we had at your place was so great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Kevin and Keiko greated us outdoors as we drove up, showed us our fabulous cottage, gave us a few minutes to get settled, then thoroughly welcomed us with terrific snacks and suggestions for our five night stay including things to see on our drive to Milford Sound, beautiful day hikes, Doubtful Sound, and interesting things to see on our way to the Glaciers when we had to leave. Fine hosts, meticulously built and maintained cottages and gardens, all the comforts of home (plus a lot we didn't know we were missing), thoroughly knowledgable about New Zealand and willing to share. This was a wonderful stay. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Definitely the best B&B in Te Anau. Just what you need to relax and get ready to explore one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robecchetto con Induno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The exotic charm of Keiko's Cottages might sound a little bit odd with Fiordland, but it becomes absolutely fascinating once you get there. Keiko's japanese style, her garden and her beautiful paintings on the wall go well with Kevin's love for being one with the nature. In the morning a big screen TV in the dining room showed shoots and air views of Milford Sound, while Kevin told us interesting stories. You might hear one of those, like we did with "the hidden treasure of Caserta".
Wonderful stay. Hopefully to meet you again.

Gianluca & Ilaria

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed at Keiko beautiful cottage for 3 nights from 25 oct 2011 and we enjoyed ourselves truly! This is a homely and comfortable cottage and there is a magnificent garden in the cottahe. We had prepared set lunch for our kayaking trips and these are really good. The Japanese breakfast is a must try. Our hosts woke up early to prepare our breakfast for our kayaking trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast

Address: 228 Milford Rd., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.