We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arran Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arran Motel to your Saves list
Arran Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in late October 2013. We were traveling with our adult daughter and booked a double with a single. The room was very clean and came with a microwave. We were able to have breakfasts, prepare a picnic lunch and also a light dinner. The hotel is well situated and was very comfortable. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Would recommend to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Our units cater for all tastes and I am pleased that we ticked all the boxes for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October in a studio room which was very large, impeccably clean, and had everything I needed including microwave, fridge, electric blanket, best shower with instant hot water and definitely value for money. Mary (owner/manager) new I was arriving from the tropics and it was snowing on the afternoon of my arrival and Mary kindly had my room temperature set to a lovingly warm temperature. It's the little things like this which make small motels stand out from the rest. Because of Mary's prior phone conversation when booking and the warm greeting, I trusted Mary to suggest which companies to use for my day trips to Doubtful Sound (Go Orange) and the following day with a small group tour to Milford sound (Trips & Tramps) and I was not disappointed with her choices. I look forward to my next visit at the Arran Motel.

Room Tip: Any room here would be perfect. Very easy walk to the lake or into the centre of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review.Was great to meet you and share our knowledge of the beautiful Fiordland area with you.We strive to present our units to a very high standard and like to offer a personal touch to make your stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved staying at the Arran Motel in Te Anau. With our family group of 9 it isnt easy but with the extra space with living rooms and loung chairs etc Aaran Motel is awesome. Aaran Motel is spotless and the rooms are neat and tidy. the Bathrooms are brand new. Fantastic showers. Free internet was great to allow us to get a little bit of work done. Lovely quite location.
Thanks for taking care of all the family needs1

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Manager at Arran Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated what Arran Motel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved our stay at Arran Motels.
We found Arran Motels very reasonably priced.
Our one bedroom unit was just lovely. It was very spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean.
The kitchenette was well equipped and the free Internet was a real bonus.
A handy easy walk to town or the lake front.
We loved Mary's hospitality and found Mary to be very friendly and obliging.
Many thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for your review.Always nice to get positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed an extra night as the accommodation was so comfortable and we'll presented. It is in a quiet road and handy to walk to town. The shower was the best we experienced during our three week trip and the bed was the most comfortable.

Everyone was helpful and knowledgeable - it was almost a shame to move on! There is so much to see and do from Te Anau so it's worth finding something comfortable and spending time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your response.Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arran Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is a lovely spacious unit. Very near the centre of all activities, yet extremely quiet. A very comfortable set-up with just one little omission - it would have felt a little more homely with a small lamp in the main room as well as the ceiling light, which was rather bright at night.
We became quite settled here and were sorry to move on after 3 nights. Very well appointed and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.Will take note of the lamp in the lounge and see what we can do .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Arran Motel is a very good motel just one block from the lake and the park visitor center and a few scenic blocks along the lake into the downtown area. There are several good restaurants, a bakery and a grocery store in the downtown area.

This is the last place to fill up with gas if you are headed to Milford Sound!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Good that you enjoyed your stay with us.As you noted the location of Arran Motel is close to the restaurants and town centre and well within walking distance.Good point re filling with gas before heading to Milford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran Motel

Address: 64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arran Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Arran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Hotel Te Anau
Arran Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arran Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.