We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and so comfortable with a shower to wake you up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arran Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arran Motel to your Saves list
Arran Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Picton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and so comfortable with a shower to wake you up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed an extra night as the accommodation was so comfortable and we'll presented. It is in a quiet road and handy to walk to town. The shower was the best we experienced during our three week trip and the bed was the most comfortable.

Everyone was helpful and knowledgeable - it was almost a shame to move on! There is so much to see and do from Te Anau so it's worth finding something comfortable and spending time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your response.Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arran Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is a lovely spacious unit. Very near the centre of all activities, yet extremely quiet. A very comfortable set-up with just one little omission - it would have felt a little more homely with a small lamp in the main room as well as the ceiling light, which was rather bright at night.
We became quite settled here and were sorry to move on after 3 nights. Very well appointed and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.Will take note of the lamp in the lounge and see what we can do .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Arran Motel is a very good motel just one block from the lake and the park visitor center and a few scenic blocks along the lake into the downtown area. There are several good restaurants, a bakery and a grocery store in the downtown area.

This is the last place to fill up with gas if you are headed to Milford Sound!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Good that you enjoyed your stay with us.As you noted the location of Arran Motel is close to the restaurants and town centre and well within walking distance.Good point re filling with gas before heading to Milford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay. Our room was large with excellent kitchen facilities. The bathroom was well supplied with more than the usual accessories.
Even though we had changed our booking Mary was exceedingly helpful and accommodating. She has great general knowledge and passion about her area. We enjoyed the activities that were booked for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Always like to have satisfied customers .Thank you for taking the time to post a comment .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk,UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Located in quieter area one street back from lake front. Couple of minutes walk via nearby footpath will take you to lake front and then a short walk along lakeside will lead to town centre with many restaurants. Large studio unit was clean and comfortable. Kitchenette facilities were adequate but no sink so it was necessary to use bathroom sink for pot washing. BBQ facilty available to use if you wish. Stayed here for two nights on our tour of South Island. We prebooked and found the price compared very favourably with our other stops. Value for money and ideal location for touring fiordland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your review.We feel our location also is a plus and still close enough to the town centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and were very happy. Good to be able to make our own breakfasts instead of eating out all the time. Very helpful and friendly owners providing lots of advice and help with tour bookings. Having free WiFi is much better than having to pay as at larger hotels. Good laundry and BBQ facilities. Tours all picked us up outside which was also handy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay at Arran Motel and Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Not sure why we booked this place, but if we were just driving by it, I would not have stopped. The room was ok, clean, but the refrigerator was tiny and wouldn't hold much. No sink in the kitchen area, just in the bathroom. The rate was not that inexpensive. The location was a hike to downtown and more than a short walk to the lake. There were some nice looking motels along the lake front that couldn't have been much more expensive. The manager/owner? Mary, seemed not interested in our questions and tried to get rid of us as soon as she could. We were really disappointed with Te Anau as a whole and only came there to go to Milford Sound. If they could find a way to drive (HA) people from Queenstown to Milford Sound, this would be a gost town. I think Mary needs to sell the hotel and hang them up, and go do something she enjoys.

Room Tip: Go to the water front motels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with Arran Motel,myself and Te Anau in general.I could go through each point individually giving an explanation but in your case it won't make any difference regarding your stay in Te Anau.I enjoy being a motelier and meeting people and sharing my knowledge of our beautiful Fiordland area but some guests are always going to be difficult and unhappy no matter what you do to .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran Motel

Address: 64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arran Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Hotel Te Anau
Arran Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arran Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.