We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shakespeare House to your Saves list
Shakespeare House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't go back to this B&B. despite a lovely welcome and breakfast. The rooms are not set up nicely. It's like a partitioned off big cabin. Quite outdated. The beds are really not good. Do not book if you have a bad back!!! Good location, but besides it is lacking!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
87
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
frisbeetraveller
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a great value b&b a short walk from the centre of Te Anau. What some would call dated we would call character; our room was comfortable, spotlessly clean and we were welcomed with the smell of lavender on our arrival with the fresh sprig on the bedside. Recommend a meal at the Redcliffe for great food and atmosphere.
Overall a lovely stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Absolute pleasure from the moment we walked in. Ray and Margaret made us feel like old friends, but not in an overbearing way whatsoever, they have a lovely manner and we felt so welcome but also the right level of privacy. Amazing breakfasts as the other reviewers said. Request the Romeo and Juliet room, it's huge! We will be back...

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We came to Shakespeare House as part of our honeymoon. We had stayed in quite a few B&Bs as part of our honeymoon and found this one to be average. The rooms are small and you can hear through the walls quite easily. We found that the B&B could use some modernising and thought that it felt more like a motel than a B&B. The Internet was also a bit slow, the bathrooms were small and the beds were a bit uncomfortable. That being said, breakfast is good and it is quiet at night, which helps get some sleep. We rate this B&B as average and more could be done to improve it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here two nights, to make a day long trip to Milford Sound, based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Our room was the "Henry V" room. It is on the very end and because of that it has windows on three sides. It had an oversize king bed and another single bed, two chairs and a table. It and the bathroom were clean and well appointed. It was large and and airy. The only disadvantage of this room, according to Ray our host, is that it is furthest from the WiFi and therefore can be spotty. We found we had no trouble connecting while in bed. I mean the WiFi. Ray was a gracious host making suggestions for restaurants, to suggestions on things to do in Queenstown, our next stop. Breakfast was outstanding and ranged from fruits, juices, cereals, breads and cooked to order items.

Room Tip: Go for the Henry V room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Like most guests we spent 2 nights in this B & B. They were among the best nights on our trip to NZ. We slept in the "Romeo & Juliette" room - clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast, which was included (unlike some other B & Bs), was amazing - delicious, generous and cooked to order. But the highlight of this B & B is the owner, who just can't do enough for his guests. makes every one of his guests feel very special.
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A very pleasant stay. Ray is a great host, very friendly and always willing to help you for any need. The house is very cozy and the Shakespeare theme makes it even prettier. Breakfast is superb. You may want more?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shakespeare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare House

Address: 10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shakespeare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare House Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.