We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shakespeare House to your Saves list
Shakespeare House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night as a stop off point on the way to Milford Sound. The location was excellent as it was a short drive to Te Anau and very close to the lake.

The room was clean, comfortable and cosy. It was a cold night so the electric blanket came in handy. We have a fantastic sleep and woke to a superb breakfast. The omlette was divine.

All in all a very good B&B suited to all those travelling to Te Anau or Milford Sound.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
87
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed at Shakespeare House B and B on 3 separate occasions In Feb....from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, rooms spacious and spotless, very comfy beds, best ever breakfast...loved Margarets homemade muffins, and Ray cooked us a delicious breaky each morning. amazing garden, just so pretty. Nothing was a trouble for Ray, such a friendly host. Great location.Cannot shower our hosts with enough praise, highly recommend Shakespeare House B and B to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: All good, but the room at front a bit larger and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights here with host Ray who provided excellent advice & superb breakfasts. Very friendly atmosphere. Would recommend unequivocally.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

we stayed here for two nights and our host Ray was very friendly and helpful. It was a short walk into town and an even shorter walk to the lake. Our room was comfortable and the breakfast, prepared by Ray himself, delicious. It was a good location for our trip to Milford Sound, best place in Te Anau!

Room Tip: We were in the Shakespeare Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Shakespeare House for one night and had a lovely time. Ray the owner was so welcoming and would do anything for you. The bed was really comfortable and warm. The location was perfect for us because we loved the 10 minute walk along the water after dinner to get back to our room. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best we had in our stay in New Zealand. Ray cooked up a beautiful hot breakfast and also made the effort to have a chat with us. We would absolutely stay here if we are ever in Te Anau again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights with our 5 month old infant enroute to Milford Sound. The owners were really accommodating and great. The breakfast was delicious. I recommend the omelet. The place was a 2 minute walk from the lake and a 10 minute walk from the town center and restaurants. I really liked the location because it was in a quiet residential part of town. The decor matched what you see on the website and in pictures posted on tripadvisor. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Shakespears House after doing the Milford Track, but we booked this B&B lots of time earlier because of the reviews, and we've to say that it was even better then it looked on the ne. The photos on trip advisor from the rooms don't give the precise impression of them, they are really great, quiet and private. Ray, is just great. Gav us lots of adivese to the rest of the trip, and he is a wonderful cooker. the photos of the breakfast are really real!i just ate an omelet like the one on the photo, and it tastes really great. it's absolutely the best place to stay in te Anau, we're sure you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shakespeare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare House

Address: 10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shakespeare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare House Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.