We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and inviting plus free calls to Australia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Birchwood Cottages to your Saves list
Birchwood Cottages
4.5 of 5 Cottage   |   208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cosy and inviting plus free calls to Australia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed at the cottages for two nights in November. With two small boys it was cosy. The children slept on a fold out bed in the lounge area. The main bedroom was beautifully decked out with lots of big pillows on the beds! There was a BBQ on the front deck, and an adequate kitchen area. The cottages are seperated from each other, giving a feeling of your own space. There is a play area for the kids with trampoline and swing. We dealt with our host Ray who was excellent. He offered plenty of advise, without being pushy. We alrady had our trip booked to Milford Sound, but Ray can organise all that for you. Our hosts also offered free internet access and a bonus for Australian travellers with free calls to Australian landlines for up to two hours. (should you possibly need to tak to someone at home for that long!) Overall we were very satisfied with our stay at Birchwood. Our hosts were excellent and the freindliest we dealt with on two week trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the cottage - it is really a luxurious cabin. Well appointed kitchen, spotlessly clean with great attention to detail and all the little extras. Free phone calls to NZ and Australia were an added unexpected bonus. Free internet was also included. Parking right next to the cottage and about a 5 min walk to main shops. The gas BBQ on the veranda was also put to use with a butcher conveniently located across the road.
We found our host Ray to be very helpful and informative about local tours to Milford Sound and local restaurants. He told us about a tour group which took only small groups to Milford and it was exactly what we wanted - Trips & Tramps (we highly recommend this tour group).
Birchwood Cottages are a great place to stay in Te Anau - only 2 cottages so you get those little extras and attention to detail that you don't get in the large hotel groups.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The little cottage does not look like much from the outside, but I was very pleasantly surprised by the inside. It was very very nice and reminded me of a timeshare location in piney Arizona. Two thumbs up for sure!

The walk into town takes about 5-10 minutes depending on your speed.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Recently spent 3 nights at Birchwood with another couple.  The setup of 2 cottages is fantastic for 2 couples travelling together.  The cottages contain everything you could possibly need with lots of little extras including robes, plunger coffee and biscuits, lovely bedding and a handy gas bbq on the verandah.  It was a great bonus having free internet.  Only downside is the view - the cottages are on a main road into Te Anau - but saying that, the traffic noise did not bother us.  There are still mountain top views to admire.  While we were there Natasha and Ray were away on holidays - so unfortunately we did not experience their hospitality ; also one of their cats did end up bothering us a bit as he was obviously missing his owners and the warmth of being inside. Overall, a great stay and enjoyed all the little extras in the cottages.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Birchwood Cottages were easily found on the way into Te Anau. Natasha made us very welcome, suggesting ways of enjoying the area and booking excursions to Milford and Doubtful Sounds. Good recommendations to the local restaurants too and her choice of the 'Red Cliff' saw us through for our entire stay. We just worked our way through the menu!

The cottage was spotless, well decorated and very comfortable with car parking right next to it. Very useful in the rain!

Excellent attention to detail in the kitchen and bathroom areas particularly. A thoroughly pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Comfort,space,cleanliness,attention to detail, warm,friendly welcome.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

It was last minute but luckily we managed to find this gem of a self-contained cottage to explore Milford Sound and Te Anau.

Natasha was a fantastic host, friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

The two cottages are lovely with bedroom, ensuite shower room and open plan kitchen, lounge/dining area and tastefully decorated (not a floral bedspread in sight). In winter, the heating mean't it was cosy and the bed was so comfy we could have easily taken it with us.

We weren't expecting the cottage to be serviced, but after a long day out on Milford Sound we got back and the tea/coffee had been replenished, the bed made, fresh towels and the heating was on so it was toasty warm.

If you don't feel like cooking, the cafes and restaurants of Te Anau are a five minute walk or short drive down the road.

I'd highly recommend staying here after looking at some of the cold and dingy motels on offer on the lake front.

  • Liked — Cosy, comfy with all the little extras
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay for longer
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights while we explored the Fiordland region. Our host was lovely and helpful, the cottages clean and modern, with lovely decor and cosy. Its also very convenient to have cooking facillities. Good value for money and would definitely recommend to others...

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Birchwood Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.