We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Birchwood Cottages to your Saves list
Birchwood Cottages
4.5 of 5 Cottage   |   208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Narbonne, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a good base for seeing Milford and Doubtfull Sound. The small centre was 5 minutes away with a variety of restaurants. The accommodation was clean and had everything needed for a good stay including a BBQ. We even did the trip to Milford Sound with them and got a reduction. This is to be recommended as well, a very good day out Thank you Leonie for a lovely place to stay and Ray for the trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased that Leonie's efforts to make you comfortable are appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed our 'combo' deal for the accommodation and tour to Milford Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Quite easy to reach town centre. Just a few mnutes to supermarket and town centre. An exceptionally very good location for stopover. It has a special setup with a penthouse at second floor. Good for cooking. Good serice at reception.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the review.
We are just a few minutes from the town centre but our accommodations are all on one level so am wondering if you are referring to another accommodation?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinneberg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Leonie and Ray are poster people of hospitality. They made as feel welcome and at home immediately and were always available for advice about local activities, eateries, etc. They always made sure everything was to our satisfaction and was never any rush when we came with questions.

We also took Ray's tour to Milford Sound, which I can only recommend. Ray's very warm, personal and entertaining style made it very enjoyable for all of us. His experience and willingness to go out of his way to provide a memorable experience is impressive, no less.

On top of everything, they posted our son's precious water bottle to us - quickly and at no charge!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about our tour and the accommodation.
Having been part of this unique place on the edge of Fiordland for most our life, we have plenty of knowledge of the area, and are only too happy to share this with our guests, even if it does take time sometimes. We want our guests to maximise their Te Anau- Milford Sound - Fiordland Experience.
All 'left behind' items are sent when possible. We are pleased that your son was happy about the return of the water bottle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here last month and couldn't be more pleased. Hope to return to beautiful Te Anau one day, and if so will definitely stay here again. Leonie was so helpful, let us keep some of our belongings at her property while we walked on the Routeburn Track. Very comfortable accommodation, all very clean, fully equipped kitchen, easy walk to store for groceries - and don't miss the real old-fashioned butcher right across the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We are pleased that you found our place here great for your stay for exploring our beautiful Fiordland. Our BBQs that are in each accommodation have certainly 'sizzled' up plenty of the meat from accross the road. We are lucky to have good old fasion quality meat so close to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Birchwood cottages are small houses with good sized bedrooms,kitchen and lounge. There is the added bonus of a washing machine and clothes line for cleaning up after a walk. the bathroom is small but adequate. it suited the four or us very well. The owners are also very helpful with lots of local knowledge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
To provide accommodation on the edge of Fiordland, we are lucky to always have a "good base" for tramping. We are pleased that you did appreciate the extras such as the included laundry, which is a must when involved with tramping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had two nights here as a base for our Milford Sound adventure, for a family of 2 adults and 3 school-aged kids. We stayed in a three-bedroom cottage.
The kids loved their rooms and the grounds, the trampoline was well used and Tess the dog was patted and hugged.I cannot say enough good things about the service or the cottages. Leonie was a welcoming host, it felt almost like staying with family. The kitchen was well stocked and we chose to have dinner in. The beds were sooooo comfortable! We even had a lovely glimpse of the snow-capped mountains from our cottage.
Perhaps the best thing of all was the FREE WIFI for the duration of the stay. We didn't get that offered to us anywhere else in New Zealand...worth it's weight in gold!
OVERALL - Highly recommended place to stay. Will stay here again if we ever return to Te Anau.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
It is reviews such as yours that makes the effort all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

During initial check-in, front desk staff was professional and very friendly. They have free WIFI that was fast and reliable. The cottage was tidy and well prepared.
- Our cottage was a little tight for 3 people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We thank you for your frank and honest review. We make no secret about the fact that the third bed is a double fold-out sofa, of which most find quite satifactory for three people. To keep the 4 star plus standard, the one bedroom places are best suited to two people.
We are pleased that you found every thing else most satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Birchwood Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.