We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Tussock Motel to your Saves list
Red Tussock Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Louis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice room, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Very helpful and accommodating staff, good room with adequate space (didn't care for lugging suitcases up flight of stairs).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at Red Tussock as our base for the Milford Track and going on a Doubtful Sound overnight cruise. We loved Te Anau, it is so relaxing and has a lovely, laid-back feel to it. It was so nice to walk 5 minutes into the twon centre by the lake, which is very pretty.

If you are planning on hiking the Milford, Kepler or Routeburn Tracks, this is a good place to base yourself. Red Tussock is located directly opposite the DOC building where the buses leave to take you to the boat to the start of the Milford Track, so all you need to do is walk across the road. They also allow you to leave luggage with them if you don't want to take extra belongings with you on the track. This was great for us as we left any clothes or toiletries we wouldn't use until our return. We stayed with them on our return before we went to Dountful Sound, and our luggage was waiting for us in our room which we really appreciated.

I agree with other posts that they are in need of a bit of a makeover (more modern curtains and bedspreads would be a good start) but at the end of the day, the room was spacious enough for the two of us, and had everything we needed. It was also very clean. We didn't come here for the decor`, we came for some adventure. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed here, a group of 6 (extended family) during January 2011. We had a 2 bedroom apartment plus sofa bed. Very comfortable beds and every possible gadget needed for self-catering. Superb and powerful shower and lovely verandah to ourselves. I am writing this review because very rarely do you get such excellent service. We arrived and were worried about seeing all the sights as we hadn't pre-booked. The manager Rennie after settling us in booked all our tours and even found an extra discount we were unaware of. He did this within a half hour of our arrival. Then I did my much needed washing and again nothing was too much trouble. He really made us feel so welcome. Thank you to Rennie and his family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We spent 2 nights here as a base for seeing Milford Sound.
We were disappointed.
The place in general had an un-cared for feel. Our unit was not perfectly clean (dusty in places) and was badly in need of redecoration and modernisation (peeling paper in bathroom, lights with no light shades ...). The cleaning up after previous occupants had not been done well (all the crockery was still in the dishwasher and some of it was still dirty).
Not good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Spent 2 nights here as we drove down from Queenstown and drove to Milford Sound the next day for a day trip. Greeted by friendly guy (forgotten his name) who has recently bought over this motel. Initially brought us to one of the units upstairs but heater was not working and since we requested for a unit on ground floor, we were given a disabled friendly unit (as mentioned in the other TripAdvisor review). Room was a lil cold as the heater was situated between the room and lounge/kitchen area. Occupancy was low during winter season therefore we had more options for units. Overall, clean and comfy place. Managed to cook a meal or two. Everything was working well in the unit. Bathroom clean and spotless. Loved the fast flowing hot shower. Free broadband internet! and coin operated laundry. Service was excellent, the guy was very helpful and even allowed us to use one of the dryer for free. Enjoyed my stay there. Highly recommended! A+

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed at the Red Tussock with my family of five, for two nights during shoulder season...The facility was very clean and tidy. Bathroom tiny but functional and clean. The beds were comfortable. We were able to cook a meal with ease in the room. The host was friendly.
At the time of the booking, I was told that the room had a queen in the main room and three singles in the bedroom...sounded adequate. What I did not realize was that there was no sofa or lounge space...in fact not much floor space at all, other than space to sleep...so we found the accommodation to be quite small, considering that we had a lot of luggage. On three separate occasions, my husband hit his head on the TV, which hung over the only piece of empty floor in the room, putting a gash in his scalp and souring his mood. The rating of average is due to lack of floor space, but otherwise the rating would be higher.

If weather had not cooperated and we had been confined to the room, lack of space would have been a big issue early on, but luckily we did not spend much time in the room. The host was quite friendly. I think in order to be competitive this accommodation needs to keep a lower price point for this room, or take out one single bed, put in a sofa, add a TV in the bedroom and put a flatscreen TV on the wall, as there is not enough space otherwise, and guests will appreciate the extra space if the weather forces them inside.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The motel is so easy to find and a walkable distance from the town centre.
The couple who owns the motel were very helpful and helped us book tickets on the evening glow worm caves tour, we just had to appear at the right time with our voucher.
We had an accident too when my spectacles got bent out of shape and her husband helped me bend them back with his pliers. The kitchen is fully equipped and the toilets are spotless.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tussock Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Tussock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.