We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Te Anau visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Tussock Motel to your Saves list
Red Tussock Motel
10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extended stay discounts!!
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Les Cabannes, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our Te Anau visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our second choice of motel in Te Anau as the one we wanted, facing the lake, was full. We were not, however, disappointed as our second choice proved to be extremely good. Accommodation was spacious and well appointed, the kitchen facilities very good, Jane the manager was so helpful and informative, making us feel very much at home. Good base for Doubtful Sound, the walking tracks etc, Free Wifi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Found The Tussock while searching for accommodations for the night before heading out to do the Milford Track. It is right across the street from the Dept. of Conservation where you pick up tickets & catch the bus to do the Great Walk. What could be more convenient??

Jane, the manager, was friendly & super-efficient. Rooms were clean & spacious (good for gear sorting) with a kitchenette for a quick breakfast before walking over to catch our bus.

Located almost on Lake Te Anau, the walk along the shore to restaurants and grocery store was lovely.

We were so happy with our stay, we reserved a room for the night we returned from the trek. The bus driver dropped us right at the motel.

By the way, the Milford Track is one of the world's most highly rated trails & did not disappoint! Look it up!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road if you're a light sleeper. (I am the only one of the four of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Like most people, we used Te Anau as a base camp for the area. As such, this was in the middle of our trip and we were there for a while - so it was a pleasant surprise to have such a large and well appointed room to spread out in.

The shower was particularly great (although the bathroom was a little cosy). The wifi was the best we experienced on our trip (totally free, and a strong signal).

The location is fine - a short stroll into the main part of town along the lake (usually windy in the early evening).

Washing facilities were excellent ... oh and you are over the road from access to the Kepler Track and the DOC office.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the "Too sacks" and have no complaints about the place. It was clean, the room was in good condition and the staff we met was friendly and helpful. It does not have a lake view like other motels so you may be able to get that for the same price at another motel. We we a little worried about noise since our room way below another. But as I have said in another review kiwi's and other foreign visitor seem to be a respectful lot and we have had no problems with noisy neighbors so far. Also there is a very nice pie place in too adjacent to the fuel station on town centre road just in from the lake. Avoid the rancher bar. Expensive. Do the Moose at happy hour. Moose? They don't even have those in NZ! Lucky for them!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose Te Anau as a base to travel to Milford Sound. Red Tussock wasclean and decent but it was older compared to other motels that we have stayed in in south island. It was at the edge of Lake Te Anau so you will not get the direct lake view although it is a 2-minute walk to the lake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and well maintained. Nice kitchen with everything you might need. Wifi worked great which is not always the case in this part of New Zealand. The walking trail along the lake which goes for miles is right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikamatua, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

11 of us stayed 2 nights, managment went out of thier way to help us. nothing was a bother. fantastic unit for 7 and the rest next door. big tick from us.
Bikers, you cant go wrong here. not to far from town center, across road from lake. nice and quiet as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tussock Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Tussock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.