We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved these cottages, one of our best stays in NZ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages to your Saves list
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages
222 Te Anau Milford Road | 226 A/B Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I loved these cottages, one of our best stays in NZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Quaint and super tidy with a great easy to find location. These cottages are just perfect for kicking back in Te Anau and exploring Milford Sound and the Fiordland. Our Host Tinny was so bubbly and helpful and her place is IMMACULATE: I am talking super clean. A little chilly at first but the room heats up quickly and has wonderful little treats like: a full-sized, dual-control heating pad in the bed (yum!) and heated towel rail and heat lamp in the bathroom. It had everything we needed to self-cater and they supplied one of the most extensive compendiums I have ever seen. My only critique would be no wifi and the bed was a tad too soft for my liking. However these are very small issues on balance! So I gave this place a top score as it was such good value for money. We had privacy, location, comfort, flexibility, no hidden charges. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with friends, and couldn't have had a better experience. Kitchen was fully stocked with appliances, kettle, tea, coffee, etc. Full kitchen was great for eating in. Tinny was a wealth of information on tours, places to eat, things to do, etc. Very quiet setting with lovely garden views, picnic table, bbq grill, etc. Within 10 minutes walk to downtown, and right across the street from the bus stop. Free wi-fi. Perfect location, perfect lodging, perfect hosts.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

This is a charming place to stay in every way. We were lucky enough to have four nights in the spotlessly clean and well thought-out Front Cottage, and would have loved to stay longer. It was so comfortable and we were able to eat outside. This is in the family's spacious and peaceful garden, and Tinny and Graham are around all the time. Their advice about visiting the area was so helpful and they can get you a 10% discount with the wonderful Real Journeys. It's only a short walk to town, which meant we could leave the car at home. Tinny is a brilliant hostess - there's only one thing she's not good at and that is charging enough. This is superb value and a NZ highlight that you won't forget.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No set address
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We had the great pleasure to spend 3 nights in January in one of the Dainty's cottages. It was simply one of the most wonderful experiences we have had in our 3 months in New Zealand. We stayed in the cottage closest to the main road to Milford Sound, but honestly were not bothered by any traffic noise. That refers only to road noise, not to the heliocopters and planes overhead sometimes, but every accommodation in Te Anau had that noise! Next time, in all candor, we would probably choose to stay in the back unit, as we liked the larger porch it had. We didn't get to see the inside of the house they also rent, as it was full when we were there, but other reviewers have attested to its specialness. For us, at the end of a day, just sitting outside, sipping wine, and communing with nature, and the Daintys was so wonderful!
Our cottage was the absolutely cleanest place we have stayed in - amazing. And, although compact, the kitchen was so well stocked. You just had to look and what you wanted would be there, down to lovely placemats for dinner. We slept so well each night, and loved the shower, not having the height problem of one of the previous reviewers.
There are many wonderful places in New Zealand, and the world, for that matter, but none have the secret of Accommodation Fiordland: the Daintys.
Graham is an amazing photographer. Looking at his photos will evoke feelings in you that you didn't know you had. His eye is pitch perfect, and he has taken the time to get just that perfect shot. Amazingly, he has prepared a list of great photo sites and the best time and place to get your own wonderful photograph. And, he will cheerfully, carefully, and competently answer all your questions and share freely of his considerable expertise.
Tinny, his wife (we didn't know how to pronounce her name, silly Americans that we are. It's Tin, as in tin can, and "tinny" means lucky, which she is, often winning things. Ah, Tinny is as wonderful as Graham. So warm, engaging, full of energy, and always wanting to help. She will hand carry you, if need be, or let you alone, if you wish. But, she knows just about all there is to know about their magnificent part of New Zealand (and what she doesn't know, Graham does).
That's what makes their cottages so special: the loveliness of the Daintys. Thank you, Tinny and Graham for you wonderful accommodation and for giving us such wonderful memories of Te Anau. We only wish we could find them in every place we stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Three bedroom amazingly well equipped house. We were astounded by the thoughtfulness of the things available - spices & oil in the cupboard, laundry soap, extra towels etc as needed. It was very apparent that the Dainty's take great care and pride in the accommodation they provide. We were delighted to have our own little home away from home with comfortable couches to sit on and a proper dining room table and chairs. Highly recommend for all types of people travelling.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

My brother and I stayed in the front cottage after he had walked the Routeburn. It was a great choice: peaceful and yet with all modern facilities. The beds were comfy and the kitchen well equipped. The local buses dropped us at the door and we were picked up there for our day walk to Milford Sound. Tinny was helpful with our booking for the day walk. The name of the cottage is a bit confusing but we got that sorted. All in all, a great choice and one we would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed in the 3BR house for two nights. It was a pleasant experience. The rooms are clean, The house is cosy. Tinny, the house lady, is very helpful, helping us book cruise tickets, and introduce tour sites and driving routes. They also have wireless internet access for free, though the signal was not very good from our house.

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone that have some sort of transport, or don't mind a little bit walk to the town centre and the lakeside..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages

Address: 222 Te Anau Milford Road | 226 A/B Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cozy, private, reasonably priced self-contained cottages - 'The Batch' a two bedroom studio cottage (1-4) and a 'the Three Bedroom House' fully self contained cottage (7) - a six minute walk to the town centre. All linen is provided and towels renewed daily when required. To find us on the internet try searching 'Tinny Dainty' or 'Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages'. Relax in the evening with a drink on the deck in the park like setting after a busy day exploring Fiordland. See exterior and interior photos of your cottage when you book and know exactly what you are getting - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.