We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ending” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunluce Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunluce Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Aparima Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great ending”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here on the final night of our New Zealand holiday. Sad our holiday is over but this was a great place to stay on our last night. Great view of mountains. Clean quiet rooms. Friendly hosts. Wendy cooked us a great breakfast. Nice relaxing stay before the long long trip back to Tennessee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
124
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great location, beautiful house & rooms, good breakfast, free laundry, nice bars & restaurants int he areao and of course close to Milford Sound!
We enjoyed our stay (including the free muffins to take with us on our trip to Milford Sound!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed - 2 nights;

Good - facilities of a top hotel (robes, toiletries, heated non-steam mirror etc.), lovely people with warm welcome, wonderful breakfasts, little snacklets and wine/hot drinks on demand;

Bad - a bit away from town;

Overall - A wonderful find - the best of a hotel and a b+b. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms with bath available, otherwise showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyandRoger, Owner at Dunluce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Pian for posting this great review and for the excellent rating you gave us.We are most grateful to all our guests who have taken the time to post reviews, and we thank you for all your very complimentary comments.
As we know that many traveller read Tripadvisor reviews prior to choosing their accommodation, we would like to clarify our location.
We are on the edge of the town (Te Anau) and our house is placed so that all rooms have a lovely view across fields to the lake and mountains. We are 2 kilometres from town which takes 2 minutes by car or 20 minutes to walk. We are always more than happy to drive our guests into the town for meals and to pick them up afterwards if required.We feel the advantages of our location are that we can offer peace and quiet, no traffic noises and an amazing view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Doubtful Sound (Milford was shut).

Roger and Wendy were gracious hosts with loads of local knowledge. They left a bottle of lovely wine in the guest lounge for us and left some lovely snacks out in the evening. Breakfast was amazing! Our room was spot on, the bathroom was lovely with its underfloor heating and heated mirror (so it didn't fog when you showered), great views of the lake and a comfortable bed. So much better than staying in a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This B&B is on the outskirts of town so you do need a car to get into town but this is a great place to stay. Roger and Wendy are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, the bathrooms are great, the linens are nice and everything is very clean. We enjoyed the little snacks and the wine. Breakfast was also lovely. The patio off the room is OK, no real privacy so we didn't really make use of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently stayed here overnight on the way to Milford Sound. Very pleasant accommodation, simple but well thought out with amenities you'd get in a top end hotel. Comfortable beds, quality linens and a simple but smart bathroom with a heated floor and heated mirror over the vanity unit - you don't get that in a Hilton ! Good quality toiletries too, iron and ironing board, Sky TV, DVD player ... Wendy & Roger seem to have thought of everything !

The guest dining room was stocked with all manner of complimentary drinks, tea, coffee and wine. Wendy also made sure homemade cakes were always available too.

The B&B is on the outskirts of the settlement with sweeping lake views and all the guest rooms face south so sun on your little terrace is guaranteed (when it shines and it did for us).

Breakfast was also very good and it was nice to mix with fellow guests and discuss impressions of New Zealand and other varied topics. Roger is a font of local knowledge and a convivial host too.

Te Anau is not the most preposessing place to hang around in despite its lovely setting. We were stuck for things to do when we got there at lunchtime but decided to join a glow worm cavern trip which turned out to be a very good, if slightly expensive excursion and thankfully occupied the rest of the day.

Evening meal options in the town are a mixed bag too, although Wendy recommended the Redcliff Cafe and kindly reserved us a table when we initially booked her B&B. The recommendation was spot on as we had a really very good meal there although from the decor and appearence you might think otherwise ! It was full too, so the reservation was a good idea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wow- what a lovely B & B! Rodger & Wendy are so friendly, and the B & B is beautiful. They were really helpful with rec's for things to do and restaurants. Also, the breakfast was lovely, and the cookies in the afternoon were great. The rooms have a beautiful view, everything was immaculate, and the beds and linens are lovely- we did not want to leave! I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great- the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunluce Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce Bed and Breakfast

Address: Aparima Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunluce Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunluce is a new boutique b&b with a private guest wing of 4 king ensuite rooms and a private guest lounge/dining room. The ensuites feature underfloor heating, lavender toiletries, hair dryers and fluffy towels. All rooms are lake facing and open to private decks. Included in the tariff is a delicious home made breakfast both cooked and continental. We offer off street parking, locked storage, laundry facilities, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunluce Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce Hotel Te Anau
Dunluce b&b
Dunluce Bed And Breakfast Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunluce Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.