We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable overnight stay & lovely helpful people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Lakeside Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable overnight stay & lovely helpful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here the end of May for 2 nights while seeing the glow worm caves & Doubtful sound. The lady on reception was so helpful & lovely. It was real hospitality & sincere old fashioned welcoming. I asked if they had last minute rates which she did give me a discount.
We had a one bedroom apartment overlooking the water. We then woke up to snow. Spectacular!
The rooms are clean, comfortable, self contained & roomy. There is a share laundry which is handy. A lovely grass area out the front for kids to run around on.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    50
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a ground floor apartment, The location was perfect and a very beautiful view across the road of the lake. My apartment even had its own outdoor setting, which appeared to be the only one on the ground floor to have one. The room was very clean and comfortable, for some reason though was super warm in there and had to cool it down by leaving windows open, which was fine after that. Has a fully equipped kitchen and very comfortable overall, also had free wi-fi, which was a bonus! I dropped a rating as I didn't find the staff particularly friendly or overly helpful, but in all would definitely recommend this place as a perfect base in Te Anau and for exploring the ranging area and of course Milford Sound. Don't miss the mirror lakes on the way!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Lakeside Motel is one of the less expensive lakefront motels, yet the unobscured views across the lake are some of the best in the village. I stayed three nights in an upper storey lakeview room and enjoyed spectacular sunrises and sunsets on the lake. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped with modern kitchen area, queen size bed and nice big bath in the bathroom. Free WiFi was a bonus. The motel is 10 minute walk to the main street of Te Anau, a lovely stroll along the lake. Outdoor seating was provided, but was not private, just benches outside each room along the balcony. Parking was sometimes a problem - the motel was fully booked and some rooms seemed to have extended families staying in them with up to 3 cars, which rapidly filled the available parking spaces, as did several boat and trailer units. Overall though the Lakeside was very good value for the views and quality of the room.

Room Tip: Lake-facing rooms cost a little more, but are still value compared to other motels in Te Anau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at a cost of $130 per night. This was good value as an adjacent Motel was charging $90 a night more. The room was comfortable & well equipped. It contained one double bed and a single. Free wifi was available, the TV had a very limited amount of channels. The location was perfect, overlooking Te Anau lake which was just across the road from the apartment. There are nicely laid out gardens to the front with picnic tablea at which to sit and enjoy the view. Staff are friendly, helpful and informative We enjoyed it here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Turned up without booking. Liked the look of it from the road, as it was so impressive with it's lovely gardens facing the lake. We had an upper studio facing away from the lake, but a very pleasant outlook and very quiet. Large sitting/ dining room with cooking facilities,large TV and free Wi-Fi, bedroom and shower/toilet in separate rooms. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, will book your trip up Milford Sound, which is an absolute must. Lovely walks along the lake side toward the town, or taking the opposite direction go to the wildlife reserve. A nice walk through bush to find aviaries containing native birds, and if you're lucky, as we were, see Kea flying through the tree tops. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We got into Te Anau without having any reservations anywhere since we were passing by on our way to Milford Sounds. We had a look at few other motels but my wife liked Lakeside Motel and Appartments. We checked in and the host was super friendly. The room was great and the location can not be explained in words. Te Anau itself has a class of its own and people and businesses like this add those extra value to the place. So much loved the sunset and sunrise views. Accomodation plays a vital role on holiday and surely didn't regret using this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We rolled into Te Anau and began the lodging search checking out motels both on and off the lake. We decided on Lakeside Motel & Apartments and couldn't have been more pleased with our three-night stay. We took an upper floor lake front room. The entire lake-facing wall is window/sliding glass door and every morning we were greeted with an expansive view of the sunrise over Lake Te Anau. The place is spotless and very well maintained. We made use of the kitchen facilities and everything worked. Jodi was a whirlwind of activity and could take care of any request instantly. The small town center is an easy walk away along the lake. Evenings were spent drinking a glass of wine while looking out over the lake. We would return to Lakeside Motel & Apartments in a heartbeat and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.