We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay - Couldn't have got anything better then this in Te Anau.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must stay - Couldn't have got anything better then this in Te Anau.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We got into Te Anau without having any reservations anywhere since we were passing by on our way to Milford Sounds. We had a look at few other motels but my wife liked Lakeside Motel and Appartments. We checked in and the host was super friendly. The room was great and the location can not be explained in words. Te Anau itself has a class of its own and people and businesses like this add those extra value to the place. So much loved the sunset and sunrise views. Accomodation plays a vital role on holiday and surely didn't regret using this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    33
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
90
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We rolled into Te Anau and began the lodging search checking out motels both on and off the lake. We decided on Lakeside Motel & Apartments and couldn't have been more pleased with our three-night stay. We took an upper floor lake front room. The entire lake-facing wall is window/sliding glass door and every morning we were greeted with an expansive view of the sunrise over Lake Te Anau. The place is spotless and very well maintained. We made use of the kitchen facilities and everything worked. Jodi was a whirlwind of activity and could take care of any request instantly. The small town center is an easy walk away along the lake. Evenings were spent drinking a glass of wine while looking out over the lake. We would return to Lakeside Motel & Apartments in a heartbeat and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a wonderful suite in the immaculately kept gardens. The unit was very clean and well kept with everything we needed. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and always ready to help and give advice. The motel is well worth the money and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As with other visitors we were on the first floor with full lake view. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. The decor was not contemporary but perfectly fine. The gardens are beautiful. Reception was really friendly and helped with our planning for the next day,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a lovely room on the first floor with brilliant views over an immaculate and very pretty garden to the lake and the mountains. Facilities are very good and everything is spotlessly clean.
We did a lovely trip to the caves also to Milford Sound and a flight over Doubtful sound.
We'd definitely stay again and recommend this to friends.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an excellent first floor apartment overlooking the lovely motel lawn and rose beds and of the lake and mountains behind. We could not wish for a better view. The accommodation was very good and spotlessly clean. It was a delightful lakeside walk of approximately 10 minutes to the town centre. We would thoroughly recommend this motel and is good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose tis motel on the advice of our sister in Dunedin. While I agree it is dated, everything works, it is safe and clean. Only a short walk to the real journeys meet office. We are here forDoubtful sound yesterday and overnight for Milford sound today. Overnight and then we will check back in for one more night. Our room for three would sleep five. Great place for a short stay.

Room Tip: Pick lake view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.