We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine given the price (but it needs an update)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Lakeside Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine given the price (but it needs an update)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The accommodation was fine - clean etc. But it really needs an update. I felt like i was stuck in a late 70s American cheap motel.

You could see the lake if you sat outside, and the town was walkable. But there were so many other options along the lake (closer to town) that i think i would have preferred to stay in.

Nothing terrible, but if I went back I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

A clean apartment with an excellent view of lake Te Anau. Staff didn't really engage in any conversation for example, where to eat etc. The apartment had good facilities but is in need of updating. The children liked the garden with wendy house and trampoline.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Superb location overlooking the lake, very large rooms with all the facilities. 5min walk into the town along the lake. Would definitley recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: get a balcony room, superb lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

While this place has a great location the reception staff could not be more indifferent to your presence. Not only that, the woman at the reception is downright rude and has serious behavioral issues.

She snapped at me for wanting to check out a day earlier and encouraged me to leave right away! Not very thoughtful is it. While I hope it was just that she just did not take her daily dose of vicodin that day, she repeated this behavior over the two days I was there.

Every time I rang the bell to talk to someone at the reception, the front office staff (the woman in particular) felt extremely disturbed and wanted to get rid of you as quickly as possible. They were less helpful to me than my lonely planet guidebook.

The reception staff also took pleasure in the fact that one of the scuba diving outfits ran out of money in their area. So.. all in all what's the point of staying with them and being treated like crap?

While it has a great location, many other places do too. Te Anau is nice and peaceful, they aren't.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Ee stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. The view from the rooms are worth the money and the staff is very friendly. Rooms are big and the centre is in walking distance. We also booked a tour with the staff (overnight cruise at the Doubtful Sound as recommended) and it was the best we ever did in our life. I would always stay at the hotel should I come back to Te Anau.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide S.A.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Standard type of motel accomodaton, with a magnificent view and location. Good value.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

I do like this location and would go every time I'm there again. Clean and best view from the upper floor. We did have a one bedroom apartment with an extra queen sized bed in the living area. Like that we could stay two couples at the same time.
I would come back any time and I recommend for sure a Motel directly at the lake. There are some more. And fore the same price it is not worth to be in the second row:-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.