We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay at te Anau !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Anau Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Te Anau Lodge to your Saves list
Te Anau Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   52, Howden St, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The place to stay at te Anau !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I spent two marvelous nights at Te Anau lodge last month. John & Margaret did welcomed me as a friend in their convent. The hotel offer very confortables and uniques rooms ( furnishings also are original ). Lounge and dining room (with church windows) are decorated with woodwork, leather chair, and you really fell at home. The new owner has kept the soul of this house. You will aprréciate also the little wooden church in the garden, the lake , and the view on the montains.
Thanks you again Margaret an John for all : your strong breakfast, your marvelous red wine and your warm welcome. I would have stayed longer but I had to leave for a long journey through your incredible and beautiful country .
Geoffroy

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
140
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Burleigh, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is a place with a difference. George (our co-host; Margaret was away on family business) proudly showed us his stately looking English car outside, next to the only parking meter in town! And we also inspected the relocated church at the end of the property. Other things are taking shape - this is going to be fantastic grounds for a wedding, etc. when finished.
Our Luxmore room was small (especially ensuite) but tidy, with a great view of the grounds. However, the layout elsewhere was exceptional - I think there are wood-lined walls everywhere - the dining & reading rooms, hallway, stairs, etc. This ex-convent has been meticulouly restored (and improved for a B&B). Its not cheap, but you can see where the money goes!Although our hosts lived offsite, we had penty of time to meet George & his helpers, especially when they served a filling breakfast each morning. Being a B&B, you are encouraged to meet other people in the reading room at night (over a glass of red, free for the taking!). A great stack of books are there to read.
Overall, this B&B is a great place from which to go to Milford, etc. for the day. And George is a perfect host - nothing seems a bother. He is always smiling.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Lodge used to be an old convent and has lots of modern antiques.

We stayed in the Cathedral room which had "wrap around" windows offering excellent views across the gardens to the lake and mountains. Our hosts George and Margaret Lamb were TERRIFIC - nothing was too much trouble for them. The lounge was very comfortable included use of the PC with free wine, tea & coffee and cake, with a full library.

Excellent breakfasts are provided in the old chapel with its stained glass and lots of memorabelia. (oh and in your wardrobe you will find a nun's habit - brilliant)

MUST DO's - most people staying in Te Anua will have or will incorporate visits to Doubtful and Milford Sound. We did both incorporating the overnight stay with Real Jorneys which was terrfific. Both are completely different and offer the most stunning scenery you can wish to see. Even if you don't take a cruise on Milford - take the road to Milford Sound (get a free map from Real Journeys in town) its stunning and takes about 2 hrs each way.

Other Recommends - take the Real Journeys boat across the lake to the Glow Worm Caves - more Glowworms than we have ever seen in one spot. The Fiordland Cinema is well known for its 30min showing of "Ata Whenua" about New Zealand though we thought the quality is now dated and would benefit from an upgrade to HD.

Eat at Redcliffe resteraurant & bar in the town - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

This was one of the most unforgettable parts of our trip to NZ, we were treated with great hospitality, the Lodge is impressive and the hosts - George and Margaret made us feel most welcome. Breakfast in the converted chapel, cooked to order by George, fantastic! Would we come back? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Te Anau Lodge has an excellent location. A wonderful wooden ex convent re-located to its present site.
Our previous B&B's were more family homes and we enjoyed the personal family atmosphere, Te Anua Lodge is perhaps more of a small hotel than a B&B, thus loosing some of the cosy atmosphere.
It is nice, but for us not inspiring.
Breakfast was a bit of a shambles with not enough tables for all the guests, resulting in some having to stand around while places were cleared.
Its success is probably more due to location as a stopping off point for Milford and Doubtful cruises.
The most expensive per night of our 3 week trip, but others were more memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

You can easily fall in love with the place and the people who manage it.
You're treated like a VIP but with LOVE. TLC (tender loving care) is the essence of this magic place. Cannot ask for more!
The trouble is 3 days is enough to get used to this special treatment and miss it at your next place...
Enjoy!
Suzana & George

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Couldn't ask for more. We stayed 1 night but wish we could have stayed longer. George was the perfect host giving us the tour of the house, history of the convent and it's relocation and restoration. Our room was beautiful looking out over the mountains and breakfast the best on our 2 week trip.
I would highly reccomend thiss B&B to anyone wanting a unique experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Anau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Address: 52, Howden St, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Anau Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.