We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for excursions restaraunts etc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radfords Lakeview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radfords Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Radfords Lakeview Motel
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   56 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ideal location for excursions restaraunts etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We would have to agree with all the positive comments made by previous reviewers. The only reason we have not awarded an excellent rating is that our room faced the car park and we felt it lacked privacy despite nets at the windows. On a personal front although the room was beautifully decorated and colour co ordinated, predominately blacks/greys we felt it darkened the room especially as we had to keep the nets drawn. That said when on holiday you don't expect to spend hours in you accommodation!

Room Tip: Request room overlooking lake/gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Birthdayoys,

I appreciate you taking the time to place your review, thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and I understand your comments about the colours darkened the room, they are earmarked to get ligher colour furnishings in the near future which will recify this issue.

I hope the rest of your travels have gone well and you have wonderful memories of your time in Fiordland.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    77
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
212
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

With my wife having broken her leg on day two of our holiday, I was beginning to dread arrival at our numerous venues. However, at Radfords Lakeview, both Kerri and her daughter made us very welcome and couldn't do enough to help us cope with a wheelchair bound guest.
On arrival at our next venue, Queenstown, I had forgotten to pack the footrest and leg support,
Kerri was ahead of us and emailed me, then arranged for the local bus company to deliver the bits and I collected the parcel after dinner that same evening- saving me a 5 hour round trip.
That's service with a capital S

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Robert W

Thank you for staying with us and I am delighted that your time here was enjoyable. It was my pleasure to be able to help get your wheel chair parts back to you in Queenstown. Real Journeys were very helpful in allowing this. Thank you Real Journeys!

I hope the rest of your trip goes as planned and your wife makes a fast recovery.

Best Wishes
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in one of the upstairs Lakeview units (14).

Hosts were very friendly and helpful and very flexible.

There is a lot of competition on the te anau lakefront and this place gets the details right

Garden is also immaculately groomed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Pauloc

How great of you to review us. Thank you very much. It was our pleasure to be able to let you check in early and out late, This is not always possible when we are busy however your unit was totally ready for your early check in.

All the very best with your beautiful baby and we look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife spent two nights at Radfords and enjoyed our stay. The owner, Kerri, typifies New Zealand hospitality. Great personality and very helpful. She gave great recommendations for dinner and was very helpful. The motel has a washer and dryer. The motel is only a block from the center of town and very convenient to the Glow Worm boat. Also, we would have a little visitor every night, Precious the cat. We enjoyed our time the Radfords.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Redondo Dave

Thanks for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here and found our recommendations helpful. It is always our intentions that you depart Te Anau having a memorable stay and I hope "Precoius" the cat added to your memories too.

We hope that we get to chance to host you should you come back this way in the future.

Thank you for staying with us.

Best Wishes

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My family and I vacationed in New Zealand for two weeks and stayed in several hotels and motels along the way. We were not expecting to much out of our motel in Te Anau but it WAS MY FAVORITE OF THE WHOLE VACATION. Why? Because after driving and touring since very early morning and arriving at the motel shortly before 8 PM - Kerri greeted me when I entered by "Hello Steven" and proceeded to make me feel at home. She was just like a mom making sure everything was in good order and that we were happy. I want to adopt her!
We rented a two bedroom suite which was spotless and well maintained. Location was across the street from the lake which was beautiful. Town center was a couple of minutes away by car for dinner. My only regret is that we did not stay there longer and enjoy the peace and beauty.
The next morning we drove about 20 minutes to get to our Doubtful Sound Excursion. (In another review)
This is a must stay at motel.
Thanks Kerri.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Steven

Thank you for your kind words and we delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We take great pride in making sure our guests have the most memorable time possible in our area and and try our best to make everyone feel at home. The team here do a great job in presenting our property in immaculate order and take great pride in doing so.

I certainly hoe that you get to come back to finalise the "adoption" papers and see more of our area.

Best Wishes

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Quite frankly anyone who can find fault with this place does not deserve to stay here. I am lucky to stay in 5 star hotels the world over but these places cost over $800 NZ a night, here value for money is terrific, spotless apartment, every facility you could possibly need and friendly host. Terri works hard here and it shows, the flowers and planting at the entrance immediately tell you this is somewhere special. Would return here every time, loved it, deserves 6 stars if I could award them.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear AnthonyPit,

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time out of your busy day to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience staying here and I agree that our gardener Phyllis (my mum) does a terrific job and we constantly get raving comments about it - I will be sure to pass this on.
Should you come back this way we would love to host you again.

Best wishes,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEASANTON
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very stylish. Sliding glass door entry. Separate bedroom in our unit. Just wonderful. Easy walk to the restaurants and shops in town. Lake just across the street but really didn't have a good view of it from the room. Easy 15 min drive in the morning to Manapouri to visit Doubtful Sound.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Charles B

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review your time here. I totally agree with you, our staff do an amazing job of presenting the units for our guests and I will be sure to past your comments on to them.

We hope that the rest of your travels have gone well and should you come this way again, would like the opportunity to host you again.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radfords Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords Lakeview Motel

Address: 56 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords Lakeview Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in affordable style at Radfords Lakeview Motel. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every unit and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet and a laptop available for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radfords Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radfords Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.