We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed on our New Zealand trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radfords Lakeview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radfords Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Radfords Lakeview Motel
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   56 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed on our New Zealand trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On balance, this was the best place we stayed on our New Zealand trip. We stayed in places that were fancier, but overall this had a great combination of large comfortable room with kitchenette and sitting area, great beds in a separate bedroom, nice shower with a powerful heater in the bathroom, good view over the lake, free wi-fi, laundry available, and nice location that is right across from the lake walk and still close to town (but be aware that Te Anau is a small town with limited amenities, especially on weekends). I would not call the price a bargain but it was reasonable taking everything into consideration. If you're going to stay in Te Anau this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Darrick P, We appreciate you reviewing your stay with us and your wonderful comments of your experience at "Radfords". It was a pleasure hosting you and do hope that you have many wonderful memories of your time in Fiordland and trust the remainder of your time in New Zealand went very well too.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    77
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
211
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
invercargill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Radfords is in a league of its own, stunning rooms which are immaculately presented and serviced, breath taking views, and the staff go above and beyond their duties, all in all its a stunning combination of affordability, location, luxury and the feeling of being genuinely welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Mcoot,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate it very much. Our staff do a wonderful job of cleaning and presenting our facilities to a very high standard and delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We loved having you stay and will certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although we hadn't booked accommodation, Kerry was able to accommodate us and showed us a room that was more than we expected. It was a 1 bedroom suite with a spa that was immaculate in every way. The attention to detail and furnishings is unbelievable. The bed is like a cloud! Great view across the lake, all rooms appear to have these views. They are very helpful in providing recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. Do youself a favour and choose this property, you will not be sorry.Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear KylisF, Wow! Thank you for your glowing review. We are pleased that you found our advise helpful, we enjoy sharing our knowledge so that our guests can make the most of their time here. It was our pleasure to host you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had 3 wonderful nights here. We actually commented we felt like we were stopping with friends who happened to own the motel. The rooms are incredible, the views are superb. Kerri was so helpful and friendly. We were walking distance to everything. It certainly was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Kaandra, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and are pleased your enjoyed your "Radfords Experience". I certainly hope that we can meet again in the near future.

Best Wishes

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The best place to stay in Te Anau. Beautifully presented room with stunning views, immaculately clean and lots of little extras in the room that made Radfords Lakeview Motel a wonderful place to stay.The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. Wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend this motel to anyone visiting Te Anau.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Rosemary, Thank you for your kind words about your experience while staying here and that your Apartment suited your families needs Yes our staff do a Wonderful job of preparing and presenting the rooms to a very high standard for our guests. I will pass on your comments to them.

We hope that we get the pleasure of hosting your family in the future and that you have great memories of your time in the South.

Best Wishes

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Radfords Lakeview Motel. My first impression was "gorgeous" and the attention to detail in the room as first class. The bed was so soft and comfortable and the room perfect. The staff were just lovely and attentive and I wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommend this motel to anyone staying at Te Anau

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Anita B, Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. We too wished you could've stayed longer.

We do hope that you had the best time during your trip and would be delighted should our paths meet to host you again.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

this was an excellent place to stay and we thoroughly commend it.
The people were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.
The place was spotless. the breakfast was extremely generous.
the view was superb and the location was within walking distance of everything.
we loved it.

Room Tip: every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Nameerfud,

Thank you for your high praise of our property, we have an amazing team of staff that take great pride in presenting this complex to a very high standard. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Radford's

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radfords Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords Lakeview Motel

Address: 56 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords Lakeview Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in affordable style at Radfords Lakeview Motel. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every unit and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet and a laptop available for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radfords Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radfords Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.