We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radfords Lakeview Motel

Save Saved
You added Radfords Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radfords Lakeview Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   56 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
FJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in an upstairs apartment and were very impressed by the fit out and furnishings. All of the finer things were provided and we wanted for nothing. Shelley showed us to our room and was a delight to meet. At first we booked for just one night, but booked for two as the staff and service were so friendly and welcoming. Easily the best place we saw in Te Anau and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: An excellent jumping-off point for visiting Milford Sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear M R,

We appreciate your feedback and it is so wonderful to hear that Shelley took great care of you in our absence. We are delighted that you choose to stay at Radford's and that you had a fantastic experience. We hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    69
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
61
190
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Warm and really welcoming hostess.. Clean and cosy room with all the necessary amenities. Generous breakfast basket. Our room had a view of the beautiful garden overlooking the lake Very very central to town and cafe's etc. and great base for exploring the area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear AntipodeanFrankie,

We appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay here at Radford's. We are delighted that you had a fantastic time whilst visiting this special part of New Zealand and that you take away with you some fond memories.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The managers here have really paid attention to detail when it comes to this hotel. We had a two bedroom apartment the beds were so comfortable we even woke up thinking we were at home. What hotel offers you a pillow menu? There was a chocolate by the bed each night and the whole unit was spotlessly clean, just can not fault. On arrival we were offered to push bikes to ride around the town which is a great way to see Te Anau. I could go on with positive comments so don't hesitate to book this accommodation.

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom floor though I think any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear kgholiday,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and recommending our complex to future guests.
We are so pleased that you had a great experience whilst staying here at Radford's and were able to enjoy the use of the bikes to take in the sights of Te Anau.

It was an absolute pleasure to host your lovely family. Safe travels and enjoy the rest of your time here in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,
Shelley Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

First i'd like to say thank you to the manager kerri for her brilliant hospitality, she was more then willing to get us on the best day trip to Milford Sound and made the whole experiencing of choosing our cruise and booking it for us whilst checking in, saved as plenty of time (and money).

However, the rooms were what i'd call basic and dated (two bedroom apartment) also nearly every room had a lock on the door except the bathroom, which became a problem.


I'd rate the service a 5, the rooms a 3. (out of 5)

Room Tip: The room we had didn't look like the websites images, makes sure you know exactly what room your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Jacob3388,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review. It was my pleasure to be able to help you with your Milford Sound booking. I would like to offer an explanation for you thinking the room was different to what you had booked, all of our two bedroom units are decorated the same however I am wondering if you seen photos of our studio units which are decorated differently on our website? however these photos are all under the correct categories on our website. If this is not what has happened would you please be kind enough to call me on free phone 0800 782 972 so we can rectify this issue so the same thing doesn't happen for any future guests. We really appreciate this feedback and we hope that the rest of your holiday has been wonderful.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay, we couldn't rate it more highly. The rooms were beautifully appointed with little touches that made the whole experience even better.The bed was super comfortable and the spa bath was huge. Breakfast was provided in the kitchen that was a welcomed surprise. Unfortunately the weather prevented us from seeing many of the sights with the Milford road closed but this didn't damper our experience because Kerri and her husband were the perfect hosts and we felt like it was a home away from home. Thank you so much to both of you and to your beautiful kitten for making it a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Ckerve_987,

Thank you for your kind words. We love hearing that our guests have had a fantastic experience whilst staying at Radford's. We do hope that you are able to visit again sometime in the future to experience the spectacular Milford Sound and to catch up with Dexter Dude the cat!! (who loved the attention he received whilst you were here).

You were both such a pleasure to host and we do hope the rest of your trip went well.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

By ordering the breakfast, our refrigerator and kitchenette were stocked with eggs, milk, juice, muesli, yogurt, and more. Best of all, in New Zealand, REAL COFFEE! For a plunger. (No artificial sweetener, so we had to nick it from restaurants.) The room was modern, clean, and tasteful. Our sliding-glass door offered a view of Lake Te Anau, so we took it.

Kerri, one of the proprietors, and her daughter was superbly friendly and helpful. Kerri even lent my wife a parka for our rain-drenched tour to Milford Sound, which she had booked for us. She was quick to respond to questions ("Are you sure you have a hair dryer?") by e-mail and she spent time advising us on places to see in town.

One morning, their friendly, fluffy, white cat was draped across the counter. If you're smart enough to stay in Te Anau for your Milford Sound trip, rather than making the slog from Queenstown (a pretty God-forsaken city anyway), there's no reason to stay anywhere else but Radfords.

Room Tip: Upstairs probably offers better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear RobinM,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Radford's. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and we were only to happy to share our local knowledge with you both. Great feedback about the artificial sweetener, we are always looking for ways of enhancing our guests experience.

We hope the rest of your holiday has gone well.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Absolutely amazing place to stay. The attention to detail that the staff go to is impeccable.
When we arrived it was absolutely freezing, only to find that the heater in our room had been on awaiting our arrival and was warm and toasty.
Simple, yet stylish touches make Radfords a great place to stay... Down to the chocies that are placed on the bedside table. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear LauraR,

Wow, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Radford's we pride ourselves on delivering an excellent stay for our guests and it is so nice to hear that our guests appreciate these special touches.

We hope your holiday continued to be as great as your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radfords Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords Lakeview Motel

Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Hotel
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Motel Te Anau, Fiordland
Address: 56 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Fiordland > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radfords Lakeview Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in affordable style at Radfords Lakeview Motel. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every unit and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet and a laptop available for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Radfords Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radfords Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.