We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhorn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenhorn Motel to your Saves list
Alpenhorn Motel
35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK TO REDEEM NOW
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Alpenhorn and were very pleased with the accommodation. Great Value, the room was very clean and spacious, and the owner, Tony, was very helpful with booking us the Milford trip and showing us what there is to do in Te Anau. We had a great time here… Thank You!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly host, the place was clean and looked new, with comfy bed, got everything we needed, we were especially happy with the good wifi. A place I would recommend to stay during the Milford Sound trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in a studio for 2 nights. It is spacious and clean with a shared backyard. The owner/staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. He recommended the cruise on Milford Sound and we really enjoyed it. One more thing, besides shampoo and conditioner, make-up removers are also provided. Very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a simple motel that has everything you need while in Te Anau - small kitchen, nice sized main room, it is close to shops, restaurants and the lake. The property is older, but well kept, and the host is wonderful. We stayed 4 nights. Tony helped us book our trips to Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound, he even cancelled one of our previous bookings for us. He recommended an excellent bush walk for us and even gave us advice on things to see in our next destination. If I return to Te Anau, I will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was probably the oldest of the motels we stayed at during our two weeks in the South Island, but was still fine for our overnight stay.

The main room was spacious and comfortable, even if the lights were a little misplaced (I think the bed had been moved from its original location) and the separate kitchenette was well equipped.

Everything was clean and well-cared for, and the owner was a cheerful soul when we checked in and out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Alpenhorn with 2 teenage sons after the Milford track was closed due to very heavy rain and our planned 3 day walk was cancelled. We were at a loose end for 3 days, having arrived in Te Anau with no vehicle and only our hiking gear. Tony who runs the motel was wonderful, the most helpful host I have ever come across; he had lots of advice for alternative walking, tried to find alternative hut accommodation for us; and when we could not book in to any of the track accommodation, drove us to the start of the Kepler track in his own car and picked us up at the end of the day. He salvaged our holiday for us and gave us a very positive experience of Te Anau.
The motel unit itself was good value, conveniently located, and while not large has everything you need including very comfortable beds. Plus spotlessly clean. When we return to Te Anau I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time staying at the alpenhorn. The host was such a delight and very helpful. The room was clean and was self contained with a kitchenette. If you want to save some money by not staying in absolute lake-front accommodation, then this is the place for you. It represents excellent value. We will definitely stay again when we next visit Fiordland!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Motel

Address: 35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhorn Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhorn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.